Brutale 800 - Throttle Surge? - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 27
Brutale 800 - Throttle Surge?

I'm about 3,000 miles into owning a Brutale 800.

Before I start, I have the latest map. Also, I installed QD slip on exhaust.*

But from day one, I have noticed when Im on the throttle and need to zip by some cars, i have a 50/50 chance of the bike not responding, and then 2 seconds later going crazy and dumping all the power.

It scared me a couple times.

Any one else having this issue?

--R





*before and after having this exhaust, the surge issue has happened.
ryanrobot99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Ackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 2,210
New Site Garage
I've had no issues with mine, how long have you owned it and have you been back to have the map updated?

Interested in anything that Sucks, Bangs and Blows!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ackers is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ackers View Post
I've had no issues with mine, how long have you owned it and have you been back to have the map updated?
Three weeks.

The latest map was released to the dealers the week I got the bike. I checked again to make sure there was no new updates. I have the latest map.
ryanrobot99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 03:21 PM
Established Member
 
unit32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 77
I have the same problem with mine. It's only done it 3 times in 4 months but scary as hell when it does do it. Also having a problem with hard starting after it warms up.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
unit32 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
revhead1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,594
Have a read through some of the threads posted in the F3 and B3 sections. Some of the guys have played around with the miriad of settings to get a throttle response that they are comfortable with.
I would get the dealer to recheck the basics first though. Items like TPS and throttle cable adjustment for example.
revhead1957 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Ackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 2,210
New Site Garage
Actually mines been updated with the latest map a couple weeks ago but I've not ridden it since, apart from the ride home from the dealer so I can't really comment on what it's like but I had no issues during the 40min ride?

Interested in anything that Sucks, Bangs and Blows!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ackers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome