Brutale Love - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-09-2007, 11:37 AM Thread Starter

Brutale Love

I know I'm preaching to the choir about what a fantastic bike the Brutale is, but I can't help it.

Since I bought my 910R last September it's served one purpose - to ride the twisties up past Canyon Lake and back home again; I do this twice a week on average. Total mileage: 56, twisty bits comprise about 30 of those miles. I have ~2,700 miles on the Brutale as of today.

I've been riding since 1969, mostly dirt in the 70's including motocross attempts and road racing from the 80's to 2003.

This morning I went out before work (OK, I was late getting started at work again - a Brutale in the garage will do that to you). The temperature was mild (low 60's F, 15-17C). The sky was clear as was the road.

Heading up past the lake it was a little breezy, but no real gusts to contend with. I was feeling it, the blue sky, the narrow winding road, the canyon vistas and smooth growling of the 910R. The Pirelli Diablo Corsa III and the 910R chassis inspire nothing but confidence.

This confidence became totally apparent on the way back. On an uphill 2nd gear (~50 mph) left hander I felt the bike slide in an absolutely neutral two wheel drift. This is a public road and I ride it at 80-85%, leaving plenty of margin so I don't cross the center line or run off (run off? what run off - it'll be an ugly crash!)

Back to the left hander - there must have been a little dirt or desert sand on the surface compromising the grip as I didn't hit the turn exceptionally hard. The Brutale was unfazed by it, the ensuing slide was so neutral that I did nothing about it. No drama, no correction required. I held station and the very act of sliding caused the speed to drop a mile or two per hour and the tires gently hooked up and continued to carry the line.