Help: 2010 Brute 990R re-starting issue when warm - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Amer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 417
Send a message via AIM to Amer Send a message via Yahoo to Amer
Help: 2010 Brute 990R re-starting issue when warm

I recently started having an issue similar to the post in "1090RR will not crank (occasionally)" Here: http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showthread.php?t=52550

Basically if I start the bike when cold I have no issues. If go ride for about 20+ mins...Turn off the bike wait for a few mins and then try to start the bike and then is when it struggles.

When I turn the key, the pump primes w/out issues then I hit the starter button and that is when it struggles to start. If I leave the bike to cool down for 30mins it starts fine.

I have cycled through all the gears and still does the same issue when warm. It also does not make a difference if the kickstand is up or down. Clutch always engaged when starting.

I sent a PM to RACasey but have not heard back, but in the above post that I reference he asked the question if the trip meter resets...In my case it is YES. Yes the trip meter resets when trying to re-start the bike when it is warm.

Any ideas what it could be?

I did take a video of the starting issue and apologies for the bad footage...I was alone and was holding the phone camera and starting with one hand, while the other was pulling the clutch it.

Bike starts on the 3rd try and the trip meter automatically goes back to zero.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v8LHAXe5O1w

A little bit about the bike: 2010 99R w/~4K miles. I have a race ECU installed along with a HP Corse Hydroform pipe (Pipe and ECU installed 12 months ago..TPS was also reset after the install) Never had any issues.

Any help, advice, guidance would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks

/Amer
Amer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
pierre.poilane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 310
New Site Garage
The same thing happens to me occasionally (2010 1090RR 5K miles) but only after I stall at a green light with a warm engine. I think putting it back to neutral helps but most of the time I have to push it out of the way under the honking of cagers and after 3-4 tries it restarts with a zeroed out trip meter.
pierre.poilane is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 02:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Amer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 417
Send a message via AIM to Amer Send a message via Yahoo to Amer
Sorry to hear that Pierre....Have you by chance spoken to Munroe Motors? I'm hoping this is a simple fix as it's a pain to take it there from where I live but will if I have to.

Btw....Good to hear from you...Last we met was when Alvin organized the ride to HMB for lunch a few yrs ago.
Amer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
revhead1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,575
Had the same issue. Haven't had it since I went through all the battery-relay-starter-earth connections with dielectric grease. There was a noticeable increase in cranking speed after the greasing.
People commonly blame a dud battery, but mine was fitted with a Yuasa from new.
I have not read of this happening with F4's, it appears to be a Brutie only issue. Quite interesting, as the basic components are the same...
If it happens again my next testing will be looking at the battery cable sizes, earthing area and the voltage drop across the relay when it is hot. One of my buddies with a Moto Guzzi fixed a similar issue by changing the engine earth to a larger bolt connection.
revhead1957 is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
When you find out what it is let me know,i HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR THIS FOR MONTHS.My bike has done this for months.And yes my speedo resets also
cheers eddy
eddypro is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Just saw your video exactly the same issue,please what ever you do let me know what the hell it is.
eddypro is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
I am just wondering if the race ecu might be causing this issue,?,I will put my old ecu back in and do a test ,will get back to you.
eddypro is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Amer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 417
Send a message via AIM to Amer Send a message via Yahoo to Amer
Sure try it as it won't hurt....But it does seem like an evolving common issue but you never know.
Amer is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Amer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 417
Send a message via AIM to Amer Send a message via Yahoo to Amer
Eddy et al,

If I don't get help here then I will most likely take it to the dealer to see what can be done. I will let you know the outcome. But hopefully others with similar issues and a fix can chime in.

I know you have a 1078 but one dealer mentioned that some 990R's were fitted with older style relays, but MV released a newer version to address some problems. No part #'s were mentioned and again they would need to see the bike to diagnose.

My 990R is one of earlier 2010 series so it "could" be the issue. Could also apply to the 1090's, possibly the 1078 but not really sure.
Amer is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Keep in touch .would really like to know what part is causing this issue
eddypro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome