1078RR ECU and Arrow exhaust - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-2011, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
daves1078rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 44
1078RR ECU and Arrow exhaust

Hey all, just picked up a 1078RR with full Arrow exhaust. It still has the OE ECU and no piggyback like the PC V. Kind of stumbles on the low end pretty bad.
I've seen/read that people use a PC V, or a factory race ECU or reprogramming the OE ECU.
Whats my best choice? I have the DB killer installed.
Thanks for the opinions and absolutely love this brute!


Last edited by daves1078rr; 09-11-2011 at 10:10 PM.
daves1078rr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-2011, 11:40 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Race ecu with pc5 then have a dyno tune,perfect,you will not beleive the change is this bike,shit loads better fuel consumption,snatchy throttle all gone,more power ,works for me.
otherwise use a microtec.But you will have to get it on a dyno ? can this be done where you are not to sure other members have more knowledge on this. ps:when you put in the race ecu and pc5 make sure you adjust the idle screws first before getting it on a dyno.one is located on the lh side when you are sitting on the bike and the other is under the tank,get the idle rpm around 1300 when the fans are off,because once they come on your idle will drop to about 1200 rpm,you will figure it out.use the pc5 software and laptop to to this.very easy.
cheers eddy
eddypro is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-12-2011, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
daves1078rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 44
So I need both? Doesn't the race ECU take care of everything? PC V with switchable maps for when/if I remove the DB killer?

Thanks for the help!
daves1078rr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-12-2011, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by daves1078rr View Post
So I need both? Doesn't the race ECU take care of everything? PC V with switchable maps for when/if I remove the DB killer?

Thanks for the help!
Yes,you need both.the maps on the power commander site are way out,there air fuel mixture on there maps is pretty poor,just go and have 2 maps made up for your bike ,2 minute job to import the dyno maps into the powercommander,one mape with db killer and one without.very easy setup.anyway even without the dyno you will notice a big difference.the race ecu will disable the lambada sensor otherwise you can not map under the 20 percent throttle position and that is why you are having the snatchy throttle problem,do this setup it will totally change your bike.
cheers

Last edited by eddypro; 09-12-2011 at 04:32 PM.
eddypro is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-12-2011, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Thanks Dave,correct, I am just to many miles away,so I did everything myself.Just did it a bit different.but it still solved all my problems.
eddypro is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-02-2011, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
daves1078rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 44
After some searching, I found a race ECU and am installing it.
MV's price increase for a new, from the factory, ECU is now $1720!



I got it for about $800 new, the place has another one left!

'09 Brutale 1078RR. Full Arrow exhaust, damper. Lots of carbon fiber bits! Sold
'12 ZX14R

Last edited by daves1078rr; 10-02-2011 at 12:47 PM.
daves1078rr is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-02-2011, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by daves1078rr View Post
After some searching, I found a race ECU and am installing it.
MV's price increase for a new, from the factory, ECU is now $1720!



I got it for about $800 new, the place has another one left!
wtf,your kidding I paid 320.00 dollars ,what a rip off.
eddypro is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-02-2011, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
hang on, design corse has them for 464.00 dollars on their site.Have no idea why you payed so much ,maybe I have missed something ?
eddypro is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-02-2011, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 988
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by daves1078rr View Post
MV's price increase for a new, from the factory, ECU is now $1720!
I got it for about $800 new, the place has another one left!
Someone should be flogged

Eddy, this appears to be the normal pricing for MV now. Can you imagine prices when the AU$ drops......

Earth to MV, earth to MV, stop gouging your loyal and suffering customers.

I'm not quite sure what business strategy your using............But please stop

Sorry about the rant Dave, I feel better now IMHO I would recommend the Microtec ECU from X-Bikes
MV's NEW prices guarantees that the Microtec is better bang for buck now.....easily.
Rob_b is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-02-2011, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob_b View Post
Someone should be flogged

Eddy, this appears to be the normal pricing for MV now. Can you imagine prices when the AU$ drops......

Earth to MV, earth to MV, stop gouging your loyal and suffering customers.

I'm not quite sure what business strategy your using............But please stop

Sorry about the rant Dave, I feel better now IMHO I would recommend the Microtec ECU from X-Bikes
MV's NEW prices guarantees that the Microtec is better bang for buck now.....easily.
yep, Rob this is just crazy stuff,there is no way in the world you can justify a price like that on a bloody computer chip,probably made in china for 10 bucks.What a joke wake up mv.
eddypro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome