Possible CDI Problem / Fusebox - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 01:51 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 24
Possible CDI Problem / Fusebox

These are the Symptoms my Brutale 750 S 04 model is having:

Light Flickered on and off on startup.
Will not idle without throttle being held on.
When the throttle is held on the revs jump wildly from 3000 - 4500 rpms.

My suspicions are a faulty CDI unit / Fuse box does that sound right?

I priced a new CDI unit will cost $870 Apparently the new ones have fixed the problem.

I want to buy one from the USA as it's only $350 but was told by the Mechanic it could be a different Spec in the USA?

The bike shop refuses to supply me the part number. Can anyone else help with a part number for a replacement CDI unit?
Ridealot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 01:55 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 24
To add to the Symptoms list:

- Seems to be using an abnormal amount of fuel.

The battery has been checked and is fine.
Ridealot is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 02:56 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
Post -1

Mate it is probably your SPU, as long as it's for a "S" model I am sure there is no problem as to where it comes from. Be really good if you put in the registry where you are from. You will find more people will try and help you. Who is your dealer ? You have to remember that when you buy a part from someone and get a dealer to install it, he won't warrant it.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 03:21 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 24
Thanks for the update is the SPU Unit the same as the Fuse box unit on the right of the under the tank?

It is the 750 S model.

Can anyone help with a part number?

I pulled the Fuse box out couldn't find a part number on it.
Ridealot is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 03:40 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridealot View Post
Thanks for the update is the SPU Unit the same as the Fuse box unit on the right of the under the tank?

It is the 750 S model.

Can anyone help with a part number?

I pulled the Fuse box out couldn't find a part number on it.
Download the parts list and Manuals here mate

http://my.agusta.us/

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 06:23 AM
King of Carbon
 
DesignCorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London
Posts: 1,586
Send a message via Skype™ to DesignCorse
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridealot View Post
These are the Symptoms my Brutale 750 S 04 model is having:

Light Flickered on and off on startup.
Will not idle without throttle being held on.
When the throttle is held on the revs jump wildly from 3000 - 4500 rpms.

My suspicions are a faulty CDI unit / Fuse box does that sound right?

I priced a new CDI unit will cost $870 Apparently the new ones have fixed the problem.

I want to buy one from the USA as it's only $350 but was told by the Mechanic it could be a different Spec in the USA?

The bike shop refuses to supply me the part number. Can anyone else help with a part number for a replacement CDI unit?
The CDI unit part number as follows:

8000A9615 Frame number prior I 004321
8000A9300 Frame Number After 004322 I

Regards

Al


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


T: +44 (0) 1582 840 024


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DesignCorse is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
shoe07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesignCorse View Post
The CDI unit part number as follows:

8000A9615 Frame number prior I 004321
8000A9300 Frame Number After 004322 I
+1

Adding power makes you faster on the straights, while subtracting weight makes you faster everywhere - Colin Chapman

2004 Brutale 750S
shoe07 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 09:38 AM
Established Member
 
Miko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Isle of Pag, Croatia
Posts: 201
Maybe you can find here some useful info, I recently changed my SPU.
http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showthread.php?t=40467

First check the voltage stability of the individual circuit breakers (headlights, fuel pump, injectors, spark coils).
Miko is online now  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
hb88xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A'dam, NL
Posts: 3,399
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesignCorse View Post
The CDI unit part number as follows:

8000A9615 Frame number prior I 004321
8000A9300 Frame Number After 004322 I
8A00A9615 replaces 8000A9615 (A and 0 difference!)

8A00A9300 replaces 8000A9300 (A and 0 difference!)

4,5Mg~3Al~2Ti~Fe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hb88xx is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2011, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 24
Australian SPU CDI Differences, are there any?

Thanks everybody for your help.

I will order 8A00A9615 this should fix my problem.

Would there be any other regional differences when buying this unit outside of Australia? e.g Lights, performance, etc.

or would this unit with the same part number as in Australia actually be the same as every other unit sold in other country's.
Ridealot is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome