Seeking wisdom - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-20-2011, 02:33 PM Thread Starter

Seeking wisdom

Hi,

I am about to enter the hallowed realms of MV ownership and, as this is my first time, please be gentle.

I've had a passion for nakeds all my riding life and have, in the past 10 years, enjoyed the thrill of the Speed Tripple, the brashness of various Buells, the aggression of the Aprilla and most recently the bonkers Benelli TNT 1130 Cafe Racer.

Unfortunately my shoulders and wrists are knackered (too much shopping....and other things ) so I've had to pass on my beloved Benelli and look for something a little kinder to my body.

I fell in love with MV about 6 years ago when I test rode a 750 Brutale, but didn't take the plunge then as I felt I wanted more mid-range from a bike. I'm now in a position to indulge my fantasy and I am torn between the 989R and the new 920.

Please can you give me any guidance...and before you say it I can't run to a 990R.

I love the look of the 989 and at the moment they're a bit of a bargain.....what do I need to be aware of? If I buy a second hand one are Pirelli Corsas or Diablos best??? I also like the 920, it's planted and confidence inspiring, I took one out for a couple of hours over the weekend in a monsoon and I was sticking it into corners I would never have dreamed of taking like that on the Benelli in the rain......and that was without the TC on(still not convinced about the need for that). Obviously early days for this model but your words of wisdom are most welcome.

Cheers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-20-2011, 04:51 PM
Established Member

Send a message via Yahoo to joanne
owned all three of them bikes 990r long story!!!!, 989r went to europe on , no problems great bike and i got knackered wrists as well, lol.
currently piloting the 920 in white, did'nt fancy the black. loving it hanldes great plenty of power.