1090 Brutale...Adjusting TPS - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 10:08 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 90
1090 Brutale...Adjusting TPS

OK, Given that my manual pages are written in French, can anyone point me at clear instructions for adjusting the TPS on my bike?

Thanks

Mark
brooksr13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
mv2envy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reseda, California
Posts: 5,824
Why would you need to on a new bike? Shouldnt you let the dealer handle that?

Joe - mv2envy
AKA. MV Guy 12345
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mv2envy is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 90
I've been an Engine Builder / Race \Mechanic for over 40 years. I let the dealer do stuff that I am not willing to invest in the special tools to perform. I already have VDST and just need the instructions on How and Why I am doing things. Everything that I have found on the Internet is outdated and I may just have to go hang out at the dealers and watch and ask questions.
brooksr13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 12:58 PM
CHB
Senior Member
 
CHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,087
If I'm not mistaken you need MV's software to hook the bike up and check those settings? Pardon me if I'm wrong, but that is what I've seen with my bike.
CHB is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 90
From my understanding most MV shops use VDST to do that, I have the same thing that they do.
brooksr13 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 01:41 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,127
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
I think Allan Gibbs or one of those other SoCal guys has the VDST and knows how to use it.... maybe send him a message??
I watched the tech set mine, and could maybe hack my way if I was looking at the screen, but no way without having it in front of me.
It WAS pretty simple.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Resom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 272
Is your VDST for all brands? If so, hook it to your bike and hit the little motorcycle icon button. This should automatically read what computer is in your 1090, if it doesn't automatically read your bikes computer type then you don't have the universal VDST.

If it does read your 1090's computer, hit the little screwdriver icon button, this should bring you to the TPS page. If your TPS is at 2.3-2.4 degrees don't even bother with a reset. If not, reset is pretty self explanitory from there. After reset is complete don't forget to shut the bike off for 60 seconds for the computer to remember the new setting.
Resom is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
hb88xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A'dam, NL
Posts: 3,399
New Site Garage
It's nothing more than tell ECU what value tps corresponds to 0 position of throttle, so no wacko wacko.
Actually weird it cannot do it itself when ignition is turned on. Or just some service procedure without a PC and software.

4,5Mg~3Al~2Ti~Fe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hb88xx is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:35 PM
Established Member
 
racasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Palm Springs, California
Posts: 188
Mark: look on page B38 of the Chassis manual that was supplied with your bike on the USB Thumb Drive, the instructions are in English.

Your use of the term "adjust TPS" gives pause; are you wishing to change the position of the mechanical resting place of the throttle shaft, or set the zero point for the ECU using VDST?
racasey is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 90
Good Question

I wish to check the position of the mechanical resting place just to verify that they are correct as set up upon delivery.
brooksr13 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome