'07 910R charging woes - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
kkealy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Benson, Arizona, USA
Posts: 44
Unhappy '07 910R charging woes

Folks

I have an '07 Brutale. Yesterday, on a 200 mile ride, the "charge" light came on and eventually the battery went flat. I bought a new battery (and yes, I did connect it the right way round! :-) ), but...

Every time I start the bike, the "recharge fuse" blows, and the alternator goes offline. From reading the other posts here, the recharge fuse on others' bikes seems to be 30 or 40 amps - but mine's only a 10amp fuse.

So - my questions are:

- Where is the diode located on the '07 Brutale?
- Can I safely substitute a 30 or 40 amp fuse into the Recharge Fuse socket?

I have the battery on charge right now, to make sure it's 100% before I fiddle any further.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Kevin

--
'07 910R
'06 BMW R1200GS
'97 Honda CBR1100XX (owned since new)
kkealy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
fazer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 8,920
It is supposed to be a 40 amp fuse, who put in a 10?

B4 750S [sold]
B3 675R [waiting]
fazer6 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
fazer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 8,920
The diode is shrinkwrapped in the harness, not too hard to find.

B4 750S [sold]
B3 675R [waiting]
fazer6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 09:15 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
kkealy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Benson, Arizona, USA
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by fazer6 View Post
The diode is shrinkwrapped in the harness, not too hard to find.
Um - I've had a good look at the wiring, but I can't see it...

Any chance of a pic? Thanks in advance!

--
'07 910R
'06 BMW R1200GS
'97 Honda CBR1100XX (owned since new)
kkealy is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
kkealy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Benson, Arizona, USA
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by fazer6 View Post
It is supposed to be a 40 amp fuse, who put in a 10?
It came from the factory like that. The spare is also a 10.

Having said all that, I took out - cleaned - and replaced the relay. I put in a 30amp fuse, and - cross fingers - all seems fine!

Thanks for the help!

--
'07 910R
'06 BMW R1200GS
'97 Honda CBR1100XX (owned since new)
kkealy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome