How to solve snatchy throttle on a Brutale 1078 RR - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 09:57 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
tremor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 33
How to solve snatchy throttle on a Brutale 1078 RR

Does Power Commander help? Singapore has really bad traffic and sometimes I get caught in traffic and need to use 1st gear.

I don't want to spend too much like on a microtec M226.
tremor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Lucky13_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kent / London, UK
Posts: 363
The microtec's possibly the better way to go, but you can adjust fueling with the PowerCommander in such a way as to smooth off the snatchy throttle, ideally you'd want to have this done on a dyno to ensure it's all setup just right.
Lucky13_uk is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
MihaSLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia, Europe
Posts: 1,661
You can remove the spring that returns throttle blades in the default position. The throttle becomes easier to handle.

You find it on left side of the bike between fuel tank and frame. If you are not mechanical inclined I would recommend letting a dealer do the work.
MihaSLO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 354
I'm surprised that this problem is still here I thought it had been resolved with the new model ? what ECU do the 1078's have ?
Kiwidoc is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
hb88xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A'dam, NL
Posts: 3,400
New Site Garage
get tps set well, also a standard bike should run smooth.
cat removal with standard ecu is possible, using lambda auto adjust

4,5Mg~3Al~2Ti~Fe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hb88xx is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
tremor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 33
Thanks guys, didn't know there are so many solution. Will check with the dealer to see which one is most cost effective. But I don't think I want to go the Microtec or remove the spring route. Hopefully this is something that can be resolved by mapping the stock ECU, if not maybe power commander.

To answer your question, I've read that the throttle is a lot better then older version and almost eliminated on the 1090. But it's still there in the 1078 RR and its not as smooth as I'd like it to be, especially going into and coming out of a bend.
tremor is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 354
On my 910r I did the spring thing and it didn't make much difference, in my opinion. You do get use to the "Trigger effect" after a while I don't notice it anymore.
Kiwidoc is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2010, 10:58 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Corte Madera CA
Posts: 16
Perhaps my other thread has some relevance?

http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showthread.php?t=33954

The idea here is to improve low-speed throttle response, make stop-'n-go traffic more bearable (who ever chooses to ride a Brutale - or ANY MV - in stop-'n-go traffic???); not in any way to moderate the fantastic performance that results from getting to twist the throttle properly.......

Mike
MVMac is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-09-2010, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 250
Unless you spend the money on a microtec your not going to get a significant improvement. My experience is more to be gained in altering low throttle timing and timing transition from close throttle than fuel alone. Microtec does this wonderfully.
davman is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-09-2010, 01:13 AM
Raf
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 22
I read some other thread about this Boost plug thing that makes the throttle smother. Its 150 bucks. Tricks the computer into thinking its always 20c when you get on it. Maybe you try it and let me know how it works. I want smoother throttle too.
Raf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome