Sprocket Cover Issues - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-11-2006, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 261
Sprocket Cover Issues

I went riding this morining only to discover a hole in my front sprocket cover. This was caused by a bolt for the speedo sensor working loose from the inside and punching a hole through the cover. It will be covered under warranty, but unfortunately there are no sprocket covers in stock at the moment. There apparently is an issue with this particular nut working loose. My MV dealer here tightened everything down and put lock tight on it to secure the bolt, thanks to Dave over at Houston Motorsports. It is a $124.00 part, so if you are out of warranty I suggest you pop the cover and make sure this bolt is secure to avoid an uneccessary part replacement. BTW, my bike only has 1,800 miles.
Attached Images
 
lorenzotx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-11-2006, 04:18 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 785
Shocking, will check our bikes next week!
Thanks, hope you get it sorted soon.

Last edited by eMoto UK; 08-11-2006 at 06:01 PM.
eMoto UK is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-11-2006, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DFW, TX USA
Posts: 1,937
Wow second one in one week's time!!

JamesC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JamesC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-11-2006, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesC
Wow second one in one week's time!!
Curious, who had the other similar problem? Was it a 910 or other type?
lorenzotx is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-11-2006, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
falcopilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorenzotx
Curious, who had the other similar problem? Was it a 910 or other type?
That was another thread posted on Aug 5 by Maximum Velocity. It was an F4.

http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showth...eedometer+bolt

Now I gotta go check mine. This is too many in one week.
falcopilot is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-11-2006, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
falcopilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 358
Larry,
I just pulled my sprocket cover on the F4 and checked the bolt (I'm at 887 miles). It was tight, but I removed it anyway to put some red Locktite on it, just to be on the safe side. It already had some kind of tan colored thread locking substance on it, but I didn't know this until I removed the bolt. It sounds like a QC problem where the bolt is being installed on some bikes w/o the thread lock, or not enough of it.
falcopilot is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-11-2006, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcopilot
Larry,
I just pulled my sprocket cover on the F4 and checked the bolt (I'm at 887 miles). It was tight, but I removed it anyway to put some red Locktite on it, just to be on the safe side. It already had some kind of tan colored thread locking substance on it, but I didn't know this until I removed the bolt. It sounds like a QC problem where the bolt is being installed on some bikes w/o the thread lock, or not enough of it.
I'm sure it is probably something as simple as not putting enough Loctite or torque or combination of both. There obviously is a lot of vibration in this area of the sprocket and chain and I am sure if the bolt is not put in solidlly enough there could be issues. I just wish the effects weren't a bust sprocket cover that is apparently hard to replace due to inventory shortages.
lorenzotx is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-13-2006, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DFW, TX USA
Posts: 1,937
Loctite red as in 271? Maybe a bit of overkill?

JamesC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JamesC is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-13-2006, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
fazer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 8,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesC
Loctite red as in 271? Maybe a bit of overkill?
Yeah, I would (and think I will) use blue.
fazer6 is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-13-2006, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DFW, TX USA
Posts: 1,937
I was just thinking,

Make sure you tell the person doing the work, if not yourself, while swapping your countershaft sprocket that you used red loctite there. Not a place you want damaged if they try to remove without heat.

JamesC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JamesC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome