PC III Issues HELP! - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 261
Unhappy PC III Issues HELP!

Well,
Today I installed a PC III usb for the 910 Brutale only to have the bike not start after the install. The PC III seemed to communicate with the computer and I reloaded the standard map again just to make sure the thing work. After several unsucessfull attempts, I took the PC III out and reconnected everything back to original. The problem now is that the bike will not start. It goes through the intialization setup on the speedo, ect, it will crank, but will not fire. I relooked at all the connections and I can not see anything wrong. Any suggestions? :
lorenzotx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
airfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,292
Ground wires? TPS sensor hooked back up? Connectors back to Fuel injectors properly?
(don't laugh, I saw a guy hook a PC to itself!)

Fuel lines correct? Take a deep breath and go over things again. I'm sure it is something simple.

John T
airfuel is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
airfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,292
One more thing, did you use the scotch lock connector for the tps? If so they sometimes cut the wire.
That's why I always solder that connection
airfuel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by airfuel
Ground wires? TPS sensor hooked back up? Connectors back to Fuel injectors properly?
(don't laugh, I saw a guy hook a PC to itself!)

Fuel lines correct? Take a deep breath and go over things again. I'm sure it is something simple.

John T
Well,
I got frustrated and took the PC III out completely and put everything back to stock and it still did not run. However, I thought of several possibilties, weird vapor lock from the gas tank, maybe fried the stock ECU somehow (very unpleasant to think about), or screwed up an injector, ect... I took a deep breath and for the fourth time today removed the gas tank and air box (I am getting rather good at doing this now) just to double check again and lo and behold the gas line with the black connector fell out. Apparently, the push-in clip did not engage and the line was not seated all the way as it should. This time I really push it in hard and heard an audible click, reinstalled the tank and bingo the bike fired up. The universe is back in balance now, but I still need to install the PC III again and make sure there was nothing wrong with the powercommander. BTW, where does the PC III get its power from. There is the one main negative ground. Does the positive come from the injectors or the throttle sensor tap?
lorenzotx is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 06:09 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 785
Positive cable to the battery! does yours not have a positive wire?
eMoto UK is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DFW, TX USA
Posts: 1,937
Injectors AFAIK.

JamesC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JamesC is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 06:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by eMoto UK
Positive cable to the battery! does yours not have a positive wire?
There only one power wire and the instructions say go to the negative. Have you seen it different?
lorenzotx is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
airfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by eMoto UK
Positive cable to the battery! does yours not have a positive wire?

ahhh:

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(sorry Emoto)

The PC is a simple device....it intercepts the FI signal and alters it.
The connection to the TPS (throttle position sensor) just tells the PC if you are wide open or any other throttle position.

The injectors power the PC. DO NOT CONNECT TO THE POSITIVE!!!

Any other questions, just ask me.

Also, no need to take the airbox off.

John T

www.dyno.solutions.com
Certified Power Commander Tech
Authorized Tuning center.
Power Commander sales and support
Specializing in Harleys, Sportbikes and Metric cruisers

(first and last time I state this)
airfuel is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
fazer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 8,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by airfuel

ahhh:

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(sorry Emoto)

The PC is a simple device....it intercepts the FI signal and alters it.
The connection to the TPS (throttle position sensor) just tells the PC if you are wide open or any other throttle position.

The injectors power the PC. DO NOT CONNECT TO THE POSITIVE!!!

Any other questions, just ask me.

Also, no need to take the airbox off.

John T

www.dyno.solutions.com
Certified Power Commander Tech
Authorized Tuning center.
Power Commander sales and support
Specializing in Harleys, Sportbikes and Metric cruisers

(first and last time I state this)
^^Ah HA! Now it all makes sense
fazer6 is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2006, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by airfuel

ahhh:

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(sorry Emoto)

The PC is a simple device....it intercepts the FI signal and alters it.
The connection to the TPS (throttle position sensor) just tells the PC if you are wide open or any other throttle position.

The injectors power the PC. DO NOT CONNECT TO THE POSITIVE!!!

Any other questions, just ask me.

Also, no need to take the airbox off.

John T

www.dyno.solutions.com
Certified Power Commander Tech
Authorized Tuning center.
Power Commander sales and support
Specializing in Harleys, Sportbikes and Metric cruisers

(first and last time I state this)
I did not take the airbox off completely, but moved it over to get better access to the injectors. It is a pretty tight affair with the spring clips and there is a little easier manuever room with the airbox tilted out of the way.
lorenzotx is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome