Stalling - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 11:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 30
Stalling

Hi Jimmy here...

have a 2008 Brutale S...real problem is after a warm up in "N" till 170 degree, I accelerate in 1st gear up to 4000rpm ... clutch and the bike goes dead....if i start off in first and clutch at 2500RPM no problem...then from second to third clutch at 4000 rpm or higher there is a stall....this is a real problem...i have 3200 miles on this bike....anyone have any thoughts....or need more details...

Thanks Jimmy
Jimmyjam! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 11:54 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 801
HI jimmyjam i had stalling a few times last year and this and both times it has been the side stand switch. The spring inside the switch is to strong. Any ingress of water or dirt. makes it loose contact, pull back the gaiter and spray with penetrating lube push in and out, try and see if it works.
MORT is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 01:38 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,136
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmyjam! View Post
Hi Jimmy here...

have a 2008 Brutale S...real problem is after a warm up in "N" till 170 degree, I accelerate in 1st gear up to 4000rpm ... clutch and the bike goes dead....if i start off in first and clutch at 2500RPM no problem...then from second to third clutch at 4000 rpm or higher there is a stall....this is a real problem...i have 3200 miles on this bike....anyone have any thoughts....or need more details...

Thanks Jimmy
Not sure I understand. Consistently stalls,and will not pull past that RPM? ...Or does it run OK otherwise, and just dies when you pull in the clutch with the throttle off?

Is there a vacuum in the fuel tank when you open the cap just after shutting off to fill up?

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 08:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 30
Hi, thanks for the response...the problem is when i shift...rpm drops when clutched....this is when the stall happens....so high rpm when accelerating...clutch (rpm drops to 1200) then stall
Jimmyjam! is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 08:47 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,136
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
TPS not set properly....that's my guess.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 30
what is the TPS ?
Jimmyjam! is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 12:27 PM
Established Member
 
ofnoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: socal
Posts: 229
TPS is throttle position sensor.

07 White/Black F4 1000R -- SOLD
04 Matte Black Brutale S -- SOLD
ofnoa is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 12:56 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
The black plastic thing on the right side of the fuel rail. It adjusts with two screws on either side of it. You will notice yellow "Don't mess with these screws" paint on them.

CAG
CAG is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 05:01 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,136
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
On the 2008 Euro3 ECU the TPS is set via computer with software. Dealer must do it unless you have the coins to buy the software yourself. Ducati dealers can do it I think (same ECU on Euro3 Ducks).

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome