Phantom Clutch Actuation... - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-08-2009, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
Established Member

Phantom Clutch Actuation...

Okay, so this is probably going to sound a little weird, but bear with me...

Figured this out one day on a trip up to Mt. St. Helens (beautiful ride btw). On a long straight I was resting my clutch fingers a little heavily on the clutch lever and noticed it started to disengage. Let me rephrase that... The lever began to travel, but the clutch remained engaged. I wasn't actually applying pressure on the lever (not intentionally anyway), but with just the weight of my fingers, and maybe a LITTLE bit of effort, the lever moved. After playing around with this theory, I noticed that if I moved the lever very slowly, even traveling at 60+ mph in 4th gear, I could effectively fully close the lever to the bars without any change in clutch engagement.

Now I have a theory on this, but I'm no mechanic, and I'm not sure how this will hold up, but here it goes:

Understanding that a hydraulic system operates by moving fluid from one reservior to another, translating lever movement through pressure to move some mechanism at the other end, is it possible to move the fluid from one res. to another with low enough pressure to not effectively operate the hydraulic system?

I could literally ride with the lever at the bars, and there was no change in engine response. My speed remained the same, and I could accelerate or decelerate with the same effect as normal, no obvious clutch slippage.

Maybe this is true of all hydraulic clutches, and I'm getting excited over nothing, but I thought it was pretty strange and wanted to clarify.

Any thoughts?

"...and as I shifted into 6th, the engine screaming ferociously beneath me, I stared into the face of god." - Johnny

'05 MV Agusta Brutale S 750 (Nero)
'05 Suzuki GSX-R 600
Sponsored Links
Advertisement