Am I the only one who didn't know? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 06:43 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
agusta 17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 876
Am I the only one who didn't know?

I spoke with the main man at Dynojet Research. He tells me they dont make a PClll for the 2008 Brutale. The PClll for earlier models won't work below 6000 rpm (20%) because of the 02 sensor and therefore will not help with the abrupt throttle issue. The ECU will continually adjust to overide the PClll. Disconnecting the 02 sensor won't help as the ECU will still look for a signal. A PClll for the 08 model is months away at best. Lesson learned! Anyone need a slightly used PClll? lol
agusta 17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 08:26 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 185
Get an Arrow midpipe & Eprom, the differnece is amaxing - like a different bike. Smoother, better throttle response, more power & better fuel economy too.
Philly is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 10:39 AM
CHB
Senior Member
 
CHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,087
[QUOTE=augusta 17;158093]I spoke with the main man at Dynojet Research. He tells me they dont make a PClll for the 2008 Brutale. The PClll for earlier models won't work below 6000 rpm (20%) because of the 02 sensor and therefore will not help with the abrupt throttle issue. The ECU will continually adjust to overide the PClll. Disconnecting the 02 sensor won't help as the ECU will still look for a signal. A PClll for the 08 model is months away at best. Lesson learned! Anyone need a slightly used PClll? lol[/QUOTE

I thought I read or heard that when you upgrade the exhaust there is a new ESU you need to add because of the O2 sensor.Also I would check with your shop because the ECU's were being upgraded on the 08 for the jerky throttle issue?Check for threads on that here. Sorry to here you got stuck with the PClll!
CHB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 12:30 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
agusta 17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 876
midpipe?

Philly:

I am under the impression that a midpipe alone is not an option on 08 models. The cat and header are one piece. If thats true I might as well have the stubby too, if just for looks. Trouble is, I don't really need more performance (for me it's an absolute beast in stock form) and I don't want to spend that kind of cash just for the throttle response.

I love the way it makes me feel like I MUST pay close attention, maybe I should consider the throttle response to be just another aspect of that and leave it alone. I'll dwell on it awhile.....
agusta 17 is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 01:25 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by augusta 17 View Post
I spoke with the main man at Dynojet Research. He tells me they dont make a PClll for the 2008 Brutale. The PClll for earlier models won't work below 6000 rpm (20%) because of the 02 sensor and therefore will not help with the abrupt throttle issue. The ECU will continually adjust to overide the PClll. Disconnecting the 02 sensor won't help as the ECU will still look for a signal. A PClll for the 08 model is months away at best. Lesson learned! Anyone need a slightly used PClll? lol

Yes, I need a PC3. Shoot me a pm please with how much you want for it.

CAG
CAG is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
airfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly View Post
Get an Arrow midpipe & Eprom, the differnece is amaxing - like a different bike. Smoother, better throttle response, more power & better fuel economy too.
Can't change eproms on the new 5SM units. Race ecu is the only option to get rid of the O2 sensors. (like ducatis)

John T
Certified Power Commander Tech.
Authorized Tuning Center/Dealer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
airfuel is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 364
How hard can it be to build a sensor emulator?
Hartley Hare is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
airfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartley Hare View Post
How hard can it be to build a sensor emulator?
Not hard and done before, except from what I understand the new systems sample many times and look for different signals. Not easy to emulate.

John T
Certified Power Commander Tech.
Authorized Tuning Center/Dealer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
airfuel is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 364
I haven't looked at the sensor used on MVs but I can't believe it would be horrendously difficult to emulate. All sensors I've seen so far are just a simple waveform, while some may vary frequency or pulsewidth under differing conditions it's not like it's a complex data protocol. I wouldn't think it would be too difficult to determine what waveform the ECU expects for a given condition.
Hartley Hare is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 06:57 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartley Hare View Post
I haven't looked at the sensor used on MVs but I can't believe it would be horrendously difficult to emulate. All sensors I've seen so far are just a simple waveform, while some may vary frequency or pulsewidth under differing conditions it's not like it's a complex data protocol. I wouldn't think it would be too difficult to determine what waveform the ECU expects for a given condition.


Is this man in a league of his own, or what?

Are you an electrical engineer? Your knowledge goes way beyond hobbiest.

CAG

Last edited by CAG; 01-09-2008 at 06:59 PM.
CAG is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome