Power Commander vs. EPROM Chip? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-18-2007, 05:52 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Flat Spot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 475
Power Commander vs. EPROM Chip?

Sould I buy a chip even though I will be installing a power commander?

I understand that the Power Commander allows the user to adjust the fuel / air mixture ratio at different rpms and I had one on my R1. I noticed a big difference using it when I changed out my airfilter and exhaust.

What is the benefit of the chip?
Flat Spot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-18-2007, 06:07 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 185
Last month i bought the Arrow mid pipe form gearitalia in vegas. Straight away i noticed a difference in the way the bike performed ie: sound, throttle response & it seemed to sort out the abruptness of the throttle. Power gains were less noticable but are probably there.

I have just ordered the Arrow eprom this week to go with it. Hopefully it'll get here before xmas & won't be hard to fit. Arrow claim a further 4 - 6 bhp & improved engine behavior. I'll keep you posted.
Philly is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-18-2007, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
lizzardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 689
The Powercommander will only change fueling, while the EPROM will change fueling and *possibly* ignition as well. The EPROM is what it is. You will not be able to custom tune it for your bike. The Powercommander will allow a tuning center to customize the the map for your bike.

2008 MV Agusta F4 312 R
2002 Ducati ST4S
1998 Ducati 748
1994 Ducati 900SS
1980 Yamaha TZ250G
lizzardo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-18-2007, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Flat Spot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 475
It sounds like you are saying that I can use one or the other, but not both. The Power Commander will allow me to custom map the fueling only, where as the chip will do fueling and ignition, but I can't alter the settings. Correct?
Flat Spot is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-18-2007, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flat Spot
It sounds like you are saying that I can use one or the other, but not both. The Power Commander will allow me to custom map the fueling only, where as the chip will do fueling and ignition, but I can't alter the settings. Correct?
you can use a power commander with either a stock or aftermarket chip, it plugs in "downstream" from that point- IMO that's overkill. The aftermarket one May get you closer to optimal air/fuel settings, but a decent tech should be able to do that on the dyno. Again, IMO, the only reason to do both is if you believe other variables (like spark timing) are addressed by the chip
mrossk is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-18-2007, 10:31 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,382
Depends on if you have the after market pipes. If you have the pipes and remove the cat then yes, otherwise, just get the PC. The biggest difference to my bike is having the PC !
nicensleazy is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-19-2007, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Flat Spot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 475
Will the performance chip from the 910r work on a 910s? I plan to install a Arrow Thunder exhaust with a Power Commander.
Flat Spot is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-19-2007, 02:25 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
I just read somewhere today, that the r and s chip are exactly the same. I'll try and find the link.
CAG is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-19-2007, 02:27 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
CAG is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-19-2007, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Flat Spot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 475
Thanks for the information Carl.
Flat Spot is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome