crashed and I'm not sure how!! - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-09-2007, 01:35 PM Thread Starter

crashed and I'm not sure how!!

I can't believe that it happened. I was out Sunday night about 6 blocks from my house stopped at a light. Light changed and I proceed to make a left hand turn. I get half way throught the intersection and I'm on the ground!
I wasn't screwing around or being aggressive. The only thing I can think of is that because it was cold out, about 50 F, and I was only a few blocks from home (on cold tires) I lost traction, maybe gave it too much gas? But again, I was in town, not being a squid... I have to blame it on the SuperCorsa Pros's that are on there. I've been riding Sport bikes for for 20 years, although admittedly on more sport touring tires like Michelin Pilot Roads for the last number of years. There are sideways scuff marks on the tires, but I can't believe they'd be that sensitve to temperature. They are a street tire after all, no?
Most of the damage is cosmetic- mirror, turn signal, clutch lever, gearshift peg, scuffed radiator hose. But I also broke the crankcase cover and am pouring oil- so the bike is unrideable. There is also very slight bend in the frame, right where a frame slider would go. ( I know, I know- I was going to get some sooner or later), but it's not frame damage- just cosmetic. And at least the tank, bars, and the other major components are ok.(BTW I'm fine, I was probably going no more than 10 or 15 mph)
But the bike is only a month old! I put on a thousand or so miles on it, riding it aggresively, but safely, up till now- and now I have the most beautiful paperweight town!