Did I get the wrong bike ? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-16-2014, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Wrench Wench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Question Did I get the wrong bike ?

OK picked up a damaged 2004 Brutale ( has a good frame to replace our bad one ) BUT,,neck says F4 fork brace says F4, F4 on back of motor near reservoir. VIN is ZCGAJFLJX4V********* The handlebar clamp says Brutale,,was also told motor is a 1000 so did i get a aBrutale or an F4 ???
Wrench Wench is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-16-2014, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
haupti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grlitz, Germany
Posts: 3,892
The official name of the early brutale is F4 Brutale, hence the F4 logos all over it.
What they told You about the motor is up for speculation unless You have an engine number, I guess.
Not that I could do anything with it, but others on the forum can enlighten You.
haupti is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-16-2014, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
jimboF4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Somerset, England
Posts: 1,511
A 2004 Brutale will have been a 750 engine, yes lots of F4 logos and parts maked such as lower triple clamp fork legs brake calipers etc, if it is a 1000cc motor that indicates someone has replaced the original lump, so it sounds like you have a bitza, not that there is a lot wrong with that.

jimboF4
jimboF4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-16-2014, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Wrench Wench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Cool thanks, was worried there for a minute
Wrench Wench is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-16-2014, 04:03 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Wrench Wench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
seems this needs an ecu ,, I find F4 750 ones,,are they the same ?
Wrench Wench is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-16-2014, 07:40 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
You need to show us some pics to confirm please. Why do you think you need an ECU?
The 750 and early 1000's ice the same ECU, just the EPROM chip inside varies. If you have issues with I, start a thread in the Maintenance section, that's probably where you'd find the most info.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 07:41 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Wrench Wench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donsy View Post
You need to show us some pics to confirm please. Why do you think you need an ECU?
The 750 and early 1000's ice the same ECU, just the EPROM chip inside varies. If you have issues with I, start a thread in the Maintenance section, that's probably where you'd find the most info.

Cool thanks for the info,,and cause the big box was not there so figured I need it to run, was also told I need the guage cluster ?

Got everything ready to drop motor,, Black bike is donor for the red one
Attached Images
       

Last edited by Wrench Wench; 08-19-2014 at 07:47 AM.
Wrench Wench is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 08:59 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,135
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
The ECU on the pre- Euro3 Brutales is mounted on the air cleaner box under the tank. Looks like the plug for it in one of your pics. Look on eBay etc for a Marelli 1.6M ECU...Ducati or otherwise, should work if you get the right eProm chip to install in it.
Not sure what engine you have, but Brutale engine cases are also stamped F4

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Wrench Wench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
actual took a second look and found out that I could just remove the front cradle and forks and leave the rest of the bike complete . much easier than I thought. So since this seems to share F4 parts. what makes the frame so different ?
Attached Images
 
Wrench Wench is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,895
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Wink 750 or 1000?

Cheyenne;
do it the easy way, just look at the injectors 750s have red stripes, 1000s white stripes

either way you will need a Marelli 1.6M ECU, a Ducati one will be cheaper as Ed said

then you will need a Chip.....when you decide on the pipes/air filter and know the motor size

get back to us...... and then contact Adam (merc07)

http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showth...=37545&page=25

by way of the collective lunacy of the Forum we'll get you going......

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome