MV Agusta Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

A few thoughts on MY Brutale 910s

4K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  motogarden 
#1 ·
A few thoughts on MY Brutale 910s

I am not a mechanic so there maybe some small technical inaccuracies in this text - go easy on me!

- So I have a friendly connection with my local independent bike shop, and the owner is a factory trained MV [and Duc] mechanic.

I relay some of the issues [posted on our board] we have with our bikes and listen intently to my 'Sage of Wisdom' and hang on every word.

So for the last few saturdays I have spent some time with their help and effort moulding my Brutale more to my liking.

Suspension: pic1 gives you an idea of spring preload.

Although I haven't measured the exact spring rates on the Marzocchi and Sachs units, properly setting up the sag has made a huge difference in
the ride quality - even then I was still getting some nasty jaring over freeway expansion joints so on advice added a couple of clicks to the rear high and low speed compression which dramatically changed the situation - now I have great compliance, excellent corner entry, apex and most especially on exit.
This was my big problem with my brute - corner exits. Getting on the throttle hard at the apex made the bike so light on the front that it would often head shake and made me nervous, and made me think that getting a steering damper a necessity. With the rear squat removed, by adding pre-load, I now find the bike tracks brilliantly out of a turn and the front stays planted. I did have to back off the rear ride height adjuster quite a bit to restore the bikes 'neutral' attitude after the pre-load changes and to slow down the steering to get more stability.

While the suspension is not perfect, it is damn good and I can now rail through turns with excellent corner speed! wicked! and fun!

Driveline: