Limp Mode TV800 - MVAgusta.net
 5Likes
  • 2 Post By silentservice703
  • 2 Post By Tony F
  • 1 Post By silentservice703
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 18
Limp Mode TV800

Hello all, looking for some help as my bike has gone into limp mode as of this weekend. When I turn the ignition on it goes through the check and finds everything ok, but the Check engine light and warning triangle stay on. It will only go 50mph and roughly 6k rpm with slow throttle response. Any thoughts on what could have caused this? I took it for a 10 minute ride and it happened after I had parked it and shut it down for ten minutes or so. Fluids are all ok, except the low fuel light had come on maybe 5 miles previously. Would take any suggestions as my nearest dealer is 4 hours away.
Kpro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,154
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Disconnect the battery and let the bike sit without power for 10 minutes or so to allow the capacitors to discharge. Then reconnect the battery.
Teeps and Lorretto like this.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from TENTATIVELYSept. 30-OCT.4, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 388
Except for the warning indicator on, it sounds a lot like the "Speed Limiter" is on.
But, I know that function turns off with a key cycle.

Removing the battery cables is a good start.
I would also get the battery checked.

2016 Turismo Veloce 800


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Teeps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 18
Cycled battery power once I restarted I received ‘stop engine gas position’ warning came on.
Kpro is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,154
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
This is starting to sound like a low voltage battery situation.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from TENTATIVELYSept. 30-OCT.4, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 279
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpro View Post
Cycled battery power once I restarted I received ‘stop engine gas position’ warning came on.
"Gas position" indicates an issue with the fly by wire throttle not a battery issue. There are plenty of posts around this, more than a few by me, have a read up.

I encountered the 80kmph/50mph limp mode one day on my 2013 F4RR (only the Italians would think of a limp mode this fast) which in that case was resolved by switching the ignition off and on again. I had ridden through a rain storm half an hour before it happened so some moisture could have found its way into some where critical then dried out with the engine heat in the 15 minutes before I stopped the bike.

In your case you should clean the harness plugs for the throttle and the map switch, which you should find close to the steering head, with contact cleaner. Some dialectric grease spray on the plugs would also be a good idea.

There are several versions of the fbw throttle but being a TV you should probably already have the latest, what year is it? Do you have the latest map loaded?

Tony
silentservice703 and Lorretto like this.

2013 F4RR

Last edited by Tony F; 11-05-2019 at 11:17 PM. Reason: more info.
Tony F is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,154
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony F View Post
"Gas position" indicates an issue with the fly by wire throttle not a battery issue.
This can be true....the issue being that the system cannot tell where the throttle is at the point of engine start. Low battery voltage during start can produce this. Look for the easy things first as start sequence and battery voltage are known issues and relatively easy fixes.

Electrical connections do benefit from cleaning and have also been the source of issues.
Marko G. likes this.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from TENTATIVELYSept. 30-OCT.4, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 279
New Site Garage
Another thing that has cured the issue for some people is clean the harness plugs and contacts at the ECU.

Did this first occur when you were riding or from start up?

Did the trip meters zero out when the bike starts, this is a sure sign of a battery voltage issue.

2013 F4RR
Tony F is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony F View Post
Another thing that has cured the issue for some people is clean the harness plugs and contacts at the ECU.

Did this first occur when you were riding or from start up?

Did the trip meters zero out when the bike starts, this is a sure sign of a battery voltage issue.
First occurred at start up after it sat for 15 minutes following a 10 minute ride or so. It did not reset the trip meter, it also did not initially throw the ‘gas position’ message.


After reading some fixes, checked connectors, battery voltage read 12 volts on the check in
menu.

The messages have gone away and will test ride tomorrow. Didn’t have dielectric grease, but will get some in case problem recurs.

Thank you for all the help everyone, here’s hoping the problem is mostly fixed.
Kpro is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpro View Post
First occurred at start up after it sat for 15 minutes following a 10 minute ride or so. It did not reset the trip meter, it also did not initially throw the ‘gas position’ message.


After reading some fixes, checked connectors, battery voltage read 12 volts on the check in
menu.


The messages have gone away and will test ride tomorrow. Didn’t have dielectric grease, but will get some in case problem recurs.

Thank you for all the help everyone, here’s hoping the problem is mostly fixed.
The bike's battery check, is a static test, and does not test the voltage whilst cranking...

Battery voltage below 10.5V while the starter motor is turning the engine, is a problem.

2016 Turismo Veloce 800


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Teeps is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome