Is this normal for a steering damper?? - MVAgusta.net
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By dudman
  • 1 Post By pittmeister
  • 2 Post By dansoarr
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
jaramharamharam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 82
New Site Garage
Is this normal for a steering damper??

My 2015 F3 800 came with a Moto corse damper mounting kit and an Öhlins damper. The whole thing seemed so flimsy to me, so I changed the bolts (ordered direct from Design Corse) assuming the main attaching bolt maybe was stripped or somehow bent, which made the damper so flimsy.

But it still did the same thing... Anyone also have this exact kit on your F3? Is it supposed to be this loose? If not, whats causing this? I can't quite figure it out...

Video below.


2015 F3 800
jaramharamharam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
dudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaramharamharam View Post
My 2015 F3 800 came with a Moto corse damper mounting kit and an Öhlins damper. The whole thing seemed so flimsy to me, so I changed the bolts (ordered direct from Design Corse) assuming the main attaching bolt maybe was stripped or somehow bent, which made the damper so flimsy.

But it still did the same thing... Anyone also have this exact kit on your F3? Is it supposed to be this loose? If not, whats causing this? I can't quite figure it out...

Video below.

Looks to me the bolt head is too small or the hole has opened up.

What's the diameter of the hole? Will check mine tomorrow for a size.

John
theknurl likes this.
dudman is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 03:54 PM
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 116
Normal as long as it's not touching your tank. Like a shift linkage there are there are some heim joints that give it that movement. Since the bars to do not rotate on the same plane the damper is bolted to, some movement is required to prevent binding.
esq'z me likes this.

2007 910R and 9 other bikes
pittmeister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
jaramharamharam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 82
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudman View Post
Looks to me the bolt head is too small or the hole has opened up.

What's the diameter of the hole? Will check mine tomorrow for a size.

John
Thanks @dudman. Top its 10mm and bottom its 6mm.
Attached Images
  

2015 F3 800
jaramharamharam is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 07:33 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
jaramharamharam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 82
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittmeister View Post
Normal as long as it's not touching your tank. Like a shift linkage there are there are some heim joints that give it that movement. Since the bars to do not rotate on the same plane the damper is bolted to, some movement is required to prevent binding.
Thanks pittmeister. Yeah I totally get the idea of why there needs to be play. It's not touching, it's just that the play is SO much. Never seen anyone's damper have THAT much play, thats all. Does yours have that much give?

2015 F3 800
jaramharamharam is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
dansoarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Herefordshire / Monmouthshire Border, UK
Posts: 700
With these arrangement's and another similar on a GSXR I had with a WP damper across the tank, is to add an oring under the lower rose (spherical) joint. The idea is to limit movement via vibration etc, but if the system needs the motion the oring will compress. it also removes the metal on metal noise.

I have no idea what oring I have fitted, I just open my box of nitrile orings and find something that fits.
esq'z me and jaramharamharam like this.

----------------------------------------
2015 MV F4, ABS
ECU Re-Mapped with ECU studio (F4 RC base ROM)
QS & Blipper now working with ECU studio and Durashift sensor

others
GSXR 1000
GSXR 750
dansoarr is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
dudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 570
My top hole is 9mm and bolt just under
Attached Images
   
dudman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome