bike start but dosent rev. - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2016, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
iwannagofast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 177
New Site Garage
bike start but dosent rev.

Hi everyone, i went on the group ride yesterday and my bike (2013 f3 800) was running fine.

Went to go for a ride today and bike starts (test ok) but the bike dosent rev past 5,000rpm at full throttle. It even takes a while to get to 5,000rpm.

Display came up with "gas position" and also came up with malfunction.

Bike turned off and restarted and had the same issue.

Bike has recently been serviced and as mentioned was running fine yesterday.

Please help. I have no idea how to resolve this issue

Last edited by iwannagofast; 01-09-2016 at 11:22 PM.
iwannagofast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2016, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
GREGOSTINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 895
Remove seat, rear plastics and fuel tank. Locate ecu behind battery box, uncouple the two plugs & fill with a smear of dielectric grease, reassemble and you should be good to go. If not you will need a new throttle assembly, should be covered under warranty.

We're all here, but we're not all there.
GREGOSTINI is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-09-2016, 11:35 PM
Senior Member
 
GREGOSTINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 895
BTW, I had this same problem recur less than 100km AFTER my throttle tube was replaced under warranty, and this is what fixed it for me. Have covered about 2500km since with no further drama. I also went right through the bike at the following service and did the same with all the electrical connector plugs. You can buy dielectric grease at most auto supply shops in a tiny tube, you won't need much.

We're all here, but we're not all there.

Last edited by GREGOSTINI; 01-09-2016 at 11:40 PM.
GREGOSTINI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 01:05 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
iwannagofast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 177
New Site Garage
If there is one could you send me a how to link to remove fairings and tank.
iwannagofast is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 01:39 AM
Senior Member
 
GREGOSTINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 895
http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showthread.php?t=105793

We're all here, but we're not all there.
GREGOSTINI is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 01:53 AM
Senior Member
 
dudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 560
I have this problem from time to time, I have found to if I disconnect throttle connection (found under the right hand ram air tube cover) spray contact cleaner on connection and reconnect, problem solved.
dudman is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 03:32 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudman View Post
I have this problem from time to time, I have found to if I disconnect throttle connection (found under the right hand ram air tube cover) spray contact cleaner on connection and reconnect, problem solved.
You need to put something onto those contact to protect them after cleaning them with contact cleaner or they will corrode away.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
dudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 560
Good call:thumbup:
dudman is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
lefin102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The United Peoples Republic ofNew Jersey
Posts: 659
if you think about this for a minute. corrosion isnt' just in that connector. it's in all of them !! treat as many as you can . good luck

are you near the ocean?
lefin102 is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 10:29 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 37
i put dielectric grease in the connector behind the right front ram air fairing. it seemed to have solved it although, my auto technician mind couldn't figure out exactly how. wish we can get an answer exactly as to why it occurs. if it is in fact a connection issue, i wonder if cutting the connectors off and soldering/heat shrinking the wires will solve it for good?
wenger828 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome