Rivale - correct Oil level ??? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Patenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Rivale - correct Oil level ???

Hi guys,

I'm finding it hard to get the correct oil level in the Rivale.. well I have some concerns about it anyways.
The manual is really vague with directions around using the dipstick for oil level confirmation. I have checked oil levels numerous times and it always shows way above the Max level line.

All my servicing including oil changes has been done at the shop and the guys seem very knowledgeable so I have always just thought I must be reading the levels wrong and just left it as is.
Over the weekend though I have done an oil / filter change (2kg weight of oil suggested in manual.. again MV being overly vague!) and after dumping oil I found I had about 3.2 litres so I put that same amount back in.

Again, oil level according to dipstick seems really high.

Iím wondering if someone knows exactly how much oil is supposed to go in to the Rivale at oil change and how to correctly read it.

According to my dipstick Iím way over!



Thanks in advance
Patenz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 10:54 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
Are you working according to the Workshop manuals, it's very clear in there ?

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 11:32 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Patenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donsy View Post
Are you working according to the Workshop manuals, it's very clear in there ?
Yep, following the workshop manual.

Itís not really that clear at all:
- Switch on the engine for several minutes
Ė After switching of wait at least 10 minutes
Ė Ensure motorcycle on level ground and is vertical
Ė The level must be within the MIN and MAX levels (is this with the dipstick screwed back in all the way or just dipped back in to reservoir?).

if itís all the way in then I must be overÖ which leads into the other thing.. Ď2kg of oilí quoted in the manual. Thatís pretty hard to work out as I donít have scales handy.

Thatís why Iím asking other Rivale owners for help on this one.

Thanks,
Patenz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 12:09 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
Yup, with the dipstick screwed back in, so after you run the bike, waited 10 minutes, removed the dipstick, wiped it clean, screwed in back in and back out again. Now it should be in between them lines, if it's over then you need to suck some oil out.

And it's the same for all the 3 cylinder bikes, just the oil amounts vary, that's why I moved your thread to the maintenance section.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 12:53 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Patenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Thanks Donsy
Patenz is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 02:12 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
Hope this helps mate, I don't know why the bastards can just say how many liters you'd need.
http://www.onlineconversion.com/foru...1060787814.htm

This one is better - 1kg of Petroleum Oil comes to about 1,35 liters of oil. http://www.thecalculatorsite.com/con...tances/oil.php

I don't think this is right either, because I don't know if Petroleum oil is what you'd describe what we use as. Where are all the smart peoples when you need them.

Anyway, you're on the right track of how to check that level of your's mate.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Donsy; 11-16-2015 at 02:37 AM.
Donsy is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Patenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Yeah, my maths say using 0.88 kg = 1 litre then 2kg = 2.3 litres (approx). I'll pull 700ml's out and see if it hits the sweet spot.

Thanks again for the help
Patenz is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
GREGOSTINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 895
Here are the actual quantities, depending on whether you drain the oil cooler or not, from the F3 engine manual.
Name:  Screenshot_2015-11-17-12-24-59.png
Views: 788
Size:  166.6 KB

Also, it does not say anything in any of the F3 manuals, nor any Japanese bike manual that I've ever seen, about screwing the dipstick back in to check the level.

We're all here, but we're not all there.
GREGOSTINI is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2015, 11:42 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
They say that you check it after unscrewing it from you 10 waiting session. How's that work then Greg ? If I wiped the dipstick, screw it back in and out to double check, I'll get the same reading but checked against a clean dipstick no ?

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Donsy; 11-16-2015 at 11:45 PM.
Donsy is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-17-2015, 12:13 AM
Senior Member
 
GREGOSTINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 895
Unscrew it, wipe it, dip it. Not unscrew it, wipe it, screw it back in!

We're all here, but we're not all there.
GREGOSTINI is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome