2014 f3 800 issues - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-24-2015, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
venom540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SEC...USA
Posts: 90
New Site Garage
2014 f3 800 issues

just got my bike a few weeks ago havent hardly put 200 miles on it ....now im having the following issues , can anyone help

1. the throttle isnt responding ...as in i can twist the throttle a full turn and get low revs at around 200 rpm .

2. when starting more than often i get high revs and the engine keeps climbing until i play with the throttle a few times then it idles low as expected.

3. i recently had a dash indication saying "mechanical failure "

mind you im not running it any high rpms or revving the engine at high rpms when stopped .

i just purchased this bike new with only 34 miles on it and ride it maybe once a week and its always an issue .... several times after i stop at a traffic signal then accelerate the i get low revs in first gear as if the engine is struggling ......can anyone help because i mmost definetly am going to ship it back to the dealer to see what this issue is .......all fluids are ok and it was serviced before delivery and im super pissed ......

Cant see the forest because of the trees
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
venom540 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
GREGOSTINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 895
Have a read through this thread:
http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showthread.php?t=150258
It's likely that you have a bad electrical connection somewhere.

We're all here, but we're not all there.
GREGOSTINI is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Wildfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 465
Sounds like the throttle pot has a bad connection or has failed. You say it has always done it? Should have gone straight back to the dealer. That's why they warranty stuff.
Wildfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
venom540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SEC...USA
Posts: 90
New Site Garage
cool ....i think im going to look at sending it to the dealer and they can give it a good once over

Cant see the forest because of the trees
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
venom540 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
venom540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SEC...USA
Posts: 90
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildfire View Post
Sounds like the throttle pot has a bad connection or has failed. You say it has always done it? Should have gone straight back to the dealer. That's why they warranty stuff.
it doesnt do it all the time , i would say 7 out of 10 times that i ride

Cant see the forest because of the trees
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
venom540 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
venom540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SEC...USA
Posts: 90
New Site Garage
where is the ecu located

Cant see the forest because of the trees
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
venom540 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2015, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
GREGOSTINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 895
The ecu is mounted behind the battery box. You have to remove the seat and tail unit, and the fuel tank to access it. If you are going to do it yourself, download the shop manuals from Donsy's site, the link is at the top of this section. You may as well do the connector for the throttle assembly too, it sits above the r/h ram air tube.

We're all here, but we're not all there.
GREGOSTINI is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2015, 12:33 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
venom540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SEC...USA
Posts: 90
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by GREGOSTINI View Post
The ecu is mounted behind the battery box. You have to remove the seat and tail unit, and the fuel tank to access it. If you are going to do it yourself, download the shop manuals from Donsy's site, the link is at the top of this section. You may as well do the connector for the throttle assembly too, it sits above the r/h ram air tube.
thanks

Cant see the forest because of the trees
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
venom540 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2015, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Wildfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 465
I've had similar issues with a car before. Throttle worked most of the time, then I got shunting and kangarooing. It just got worse as the pot went. That said the pot was 15 years old..
Wildfire is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-27-2015, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,188
Dealer recently diagnosed dead throttle on my B3 and replaced it. Made a huge difference. Throttle still worked but it was inconsistent.
Jono is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome