Oxygen sensor - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-19-2007, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Oxygen sensor

I'm about to change the headers on my 312R but not sure about reconnecting the oxygen sensor. Will the FI give an error when I disconnect the oxygen sensor?

Rgds,
Rob
robr001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-19-2007, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
mikef4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 5,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by robr001
I'm about to change the headers on my 312R but not sure about reconnecting the oxygen sensor. Will the FI give an error when I disconnect the oxygen sensor?

Rgds,
Rob
I take it your not going to reconnect it in the new headers?, most car ecu's will throw an engine ecu light up but normally default to a standard setting, I don't know what the MV will do

(This reply has not been checked for punctuation, grammar, or spelling mistakes and is devoid of any big long cleverwords or condescending manner)


MV's all gone now, still have a soft spot for MV's, waiting for MV to tick all my boxes again.
Previously (and about 40 others)748SP, S4, S4R, 98R1, 2000 F4, F41000S, F41000R, 08R1, 09R1, S1000RR, RSV4 Factory aPRC in Garage now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikef4uk is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-20-2007, 07:41 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
I'm in doubt about reconnecting. For about any other brand they sell oxygen sensor eliminators to prevent the FI system from running in safe mode
robr001 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2007, 12:26 AM
Senior Member
 
minime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,156
Usually an oxygen sensor is required in a close loop EFI system. Removing the oxygen sensor usually puts the bike/car into limp home mode which usually means the timing is backed way off, fueling is on the safe side and revs are limited to very safe levels. This ensures that you can still ride/drive to the closest workshop to sort out.

I'm not sure on the MV as I don't have a 1000R or R312.

Slow is smooth and smooth is fast!!
minime is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2007, 04:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Normally that sensor operates only between 2000 and 4500 rpm but it does override PC settings so that's why I want to get rid of it.
robr001 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-21-2007, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
mikef4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 5,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by robr001
Normally that sensor operates only between 2000 and 4500 rpm but it does override PC settings so that's why I want to get rid of it.
Car Lambda's tend to switch to open loop control on high rpm or throttle pos'ns, maybe you should talk to Technoresearch? www.technoresearch.com and ask them if their lead/programme alows you to turn the closed loop off or take the Lambda out of circuit, They do list a single make application for the 312R

(This reply has not been checked for punctuation, grammar, or spelling mistakes and is devoid of any big long cleverwords or condescending manner)


MV's all gone now, still have a soft spot for MV's, waiting for MV to tick all my boxes again.
Previously (and about 40 others)748SP, S4, S4R, 98R1, 2000 F4, F41000S, F41000R, 08R1, 09R1, S1000RR, RSV4 Factory aPRC in Garage now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by mikef4uk; 05-21-2007 at 05:06 PM.
mikef4uk is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-22-2007, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks Mike that's interesting info, will see what they can do
robr001 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-22-2007, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
JamesC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DFW, TX USA
Posts: 1,937
Some people also find a certain resistor works to trick the computer into a base setting. Haven't heard that for MV's yet

JamesC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JamesC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome