sputtering F4 - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 06-25-2013, 09:39 PM Thread Starter

sputtering F4

Hi. I am new to MV and have an 06 F4 with 8700mls on it. The bike runs well then sputters and stalls periodically while intermitently runs great for 10 or so miles then back to the sputtering. This condition has been going on for about a week of the 3 I have owned it and I have replaced the fuel pump and used the Omega fittings with 5/16 line in place of the rotted plastics as well as air filter with some positive results but not much.

When the sputter comes on its almost like the timing advances as I get pinging off the line but the higher the revs go the smoother the engine runs. Fuel delivery seems fine and the bike 9 of 10 times starts right away.

Only thing i can tell is it has been modified with the Arrow tail section and if it came with a Cat its gone now but have not found evidence of any other Mod accept for an HID that does not seem to work as I have lights with it unplugged

Battery holds a charge and has not been an issue BUT the throttle cables were adjusted for NO Choke which seemed odd to me and according to the manual says there could be a throttle synch issue at the injectors.

Calling the dealer tomorrow for input on what they want to do with it but I am very curious if anyone here has seen this kind of issue. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 06-25-2013, 10:46 PM

Did you check the ebs relay? Which EPROM is in there? Searching on here for both might yield a solution for you. Good luck and welcome.
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 06-25-2013, 11:18 PM

New Site Garage
Smile Welcome to the forum Gil

In all honesty, there's a couple of things in your statement which can lead to a couple of different fault to look for.
I assume it's an F4 1000S ?