F4 Exhaust gas sensor - do I need it? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Ducati888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Parkdale, Victoria Australia
Posts: 39
F4 Exhaust gas sensor - do I need it?

I've gotten hold of an older set of headers from an F4, to use instead of the restrictive system with the catalytic converter on my 2009 F4.

The old system doesn't have a screw hole in it (near the rear header mount under the brake master), so what do I do with the gas sensor?

If I wrap it in tape and secure it to the engine (but not unplug it) what will happen? It won't be part of the exhaust system.

If I just unplug it from the loom completely and remove it from the bike what will happen?

What is the sensor for?

This is a race bike, so noise and emissions are not an issue. High RPM performance is.

Thanks for your help.

MV Agusta F4
Ducati 748S
Ducati 888
Ducati888 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 06:40 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
If I'm not mistaken, unplugging the O2 sensor, or not using it will cause all sorts of problems with the ECU. I would weld a sensor bung on your midpipe and keep the sensor.
CAG is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,713
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Thumbs up choices?

Ducati888;
you have 3 choices;
weld an M18x1.5 bung in like Carl said and use the 02 sensor
get the "Kit ECU" it doesn't use the 02 sensor
or get a MicroTec from Chris it doesn't use the 02 sensor either

PS;
talk to Chris

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is online now  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Ducati888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Parkdale, Victoria Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks for the input guys.

My brother has a 2005 F4 1000 race bike, with a full race system on it, which does not have provision for the sensor. His loom has the plug for it, but the bike does not have a sensor on it. He tells me his bike never had the sensor on it from when he got it as a crashed road bike.

It's run very well with no problems since he fitted the full system. Did the 2005 model have the sensor as well? Rob has run his bike for the last two years with a standard ECU, and no O2 sensor, and his bike is dynamite.

MV Agusta F4
Ducati 748S
Ducati 888
Ducati888 is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 06:56 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
The 05 did not have an O2 sensor.
CAG is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 07:33 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Ducati888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Parkdale, Victoria Australia
Posts: 39
OK, thanks CAG. Next stupid question from me - I am not running the 2009 ECU that came on my bike because it was a Japanese one with an 8000rpm rev limit. I am now running an earlier model ECU from 04 or 05. Does that mean that it won't be reading the O2 sensor anyway, or does it somehow make the O2 sensor redundant?

Thanks again for your fantastic help.

MV Agusta F4
Ducati 748S
Ducati 888
Ducati888 is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,713
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Thumbs down ?????

Ducati888;
your '09 uses a 5SM ECU with 2 plugs
your brothers '05 has a 1.6M ECU with 1 plug....his harness has NO plug for an 02 sensor....his harness is totally different than your's

go back and look at my last post.....
those are your choices

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is online now  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Ducati888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Parkdale, Victoria Australia
Posts: 39
No, sorry theknurl, that's not right. I am using an ECU that my brother had originally run on his bike. I can assure you that is is the 5SM ECU with two plugs. His harness does have the plug for the sensor, but his bike is not running the sensor.

MV Agusta F4
Ducati 748S
Ducati 888
Ducati888 is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Ducati888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Parkdale, Victoria Australia
Posts: 39
Maybe his bike is an '06. Pretty sure it's '05 though.

MV Agusta F4
Ducati 748S
Ducati 888
Ducati888 is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 09:48 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
I'll give you a ring Rich.
Your brother - Rob's - bike is the same as mine MY06 1000R, no sensor, in 07 Euro 3 they started using the sensor.

I'm a bit worried about you running his ECU as I think your 1078 has different injectors etc, it migh run, but it might run very crappy.

I have an ECU same as Rob's and a Powercommander you can borrow to see if it works, you can then decide what you'd like to do. ( I have not used it for a while so don't need it)

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome