Throttle sticking (catching) - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 03:23 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
hennessy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 179
Throttle sticking (catching)

My 2010 F4 now has a brocken throttle..... Not at all impressed

Throttle is harder to turn and past 1/4 ish it clicks and u can feel it catching on some thing, which then stops it springing back.

Any idea on whats happened here? Is it a comon problem? ..... Should point out the throttle is still working alright (rev's properly etc)
hennessy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 04:16 AM
MVAgusta.net Sponsor
 
mitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
Posts: 4,910
New Site Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to mitchy
Mate,loosen the bar end and move it out a bit,common problem,snags the throttle,no big deal.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Bike- F4 1078.
Work.Email & Paypal.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Work Phone (+61)0755244655
Facebook- Mitch Covington
Mobile-0423041326
mitchy is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
gotojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bellanagare, West Ireland 44 7875 299281
Posts: 9,922
As Mitchy said the bar end can move a touch and cause a bit of friction with the twist grip. If you still have a problem after pulling the bar end back a fraction then it will warrant inspection of the cable runs. There are two cables one to open and one to close the throttle...

First off is to open the throttle housing and ensure that all is well in there ..no frayed cable ends for example and adjustment of the cables.

If there is still a problem then you need to remove the fuel tank and look at the cable ends where they run into the throttle quadrants , again for frayed ends and also adjustment..There are adjusters down there.

It is no more common a problem with MVs than any other motorcycle with cable controls.

joe
gotojoe is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
hennessy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 179
Just fixed it.... Wasnt the bar end ( was the first thing i checked)

I pulled the throttle apart ... What happens is the return cable jumps out of its guide and gets stuck between that and the outer casing (which should not let it jump out) and that jams the throttle. Cheap nasty design

Tweaked it and refitted the cable the opposite way (it gets a bend in it) and thats sorted it for the moment
hennessy is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,680
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
All of those throttle housings are similar. They have to be checked, and lubed periodically. Wear can happen, the bolts/screws that hold the housing tight can loosen, etc.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 05:36 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
hennessy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 179
That was an informative post too joe, cheers.... tho i'd already fixed it haha

I couldn't see any adjustment on the throttle end of the cables, theres something that looks like one but doesnt seem to be.... Is the only adjustment at the throttle body end ?

I was a little angry when i posted the thread, as not only had this happend and the battery going flat.... But the cat has also jumped on the bike and badly scratch my tank .... And still having smoke out the exhaust when ever u get carried away with a wheelie or 2
hennessy is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
gotojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bellanagare, West Ireland 44 7875 299281
Posts: 9,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by hennessy View Post
That was an informative post too joe, cheers.... tho i'd already fixed it haha

I couldn't see any adjustment on the throttle end of the cables, theres something that looks like one but doesnt seem to be.... Is the only adjustment at the throttle body end ?

I was a little angry when i posted the thread, as not only had this happend and the battery going flat.... But the cat has also jumped on the bike and badly scratch my tank .... And still having smoke out the exhaust when ever u get carried away with a wheelie or 2
I know it's frustrating for sure and not everybody is filled with glee at the prospect of removing a fuel tank..Cuz sods law dictates it will always occur when it's full of juice ; )

There are adjusters on the throttle housing of 09s and prev. Maybe yours is different.

If the cable is either loose or snagging it is possible for it to bunch up in the housing and form a loop in a sense which could then unhitch it off the quadrant.

I don't know if this is right or wrong but I spray silicone lube into the housing as it's clean and doesn't gunge up...and it operates pretty slick.

All the best and keep the moggie off unless its fluffy side down ; ))

joe
gotojoe is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
gotojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bellanagare, West Ireland 44 7875 299281
Posts: 9,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentservice703 View Post
All of those throttle housings are similar. They have to be checked, and lubed periodically. Wear can happen, the bolts/screws that hold the housing tight can loosen, etc.

Hey Chuck..How you doin' ?

Shoot me your address in pm and I'll send you a Bursig Bolt : )

atb

joe
gotojoe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome