What are the obvious performance enhancements for th F4 1000R? - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-28-2006, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: 2 klicks South of Hades
Posts: 9
What are the obvious performance enhancements for th F4 1000R?

I'm closing in on the F4 R. Its probably going to reside in my garage...

What are the obvious mods? It will be a street bike.

I do not want any issues with longevity, or warranty.

pipes? ecus? custom mapping? etc..

I think I read that you can not piggy back the power commander. Is this true? Is the stock ECU programmable?

What about taming the abrupt throttle response mentioned in the magazine articles?
No Quarter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-28-2006, 08:40 PM
New Member
 
chad951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 67
New Site Garage
Hey No Quater,

When I get my F4 R I plan on getting the RG3 exhaust for the bike which comes with a new ECU and the stainless mid pipe. Of course, I like to stick with stock mods. This should give me way more power than I will ever need.

Cheers,

2005 Tamburini #254
2004 Aprilia RSV1000R Factory
Ducati Frankenduc 999/1198 race bike
chad951 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2006, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
style_one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: mary's land, USA
Posts: 3,252
i don't believe the new ECU takes eprom chips. the RG3's w/eprom would apply to the S models. the slip ons are the same as well as the mid pipe, but the header is different between the two. if you do get a true R/Senna full system, all you will need is a PCIII and a new map.

unless someone can chime in differently....
style_one is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-30-2006, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
hb88xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A'dam, NL
Posts: 3,383
New Site Garage
PCIII is possible, makes it for owners possible to tinker. As the software is free.
Else dongle software is needed to modify internal settings! same applies for rapidbike software

4,5Mg~3Al~2Ti~Fe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hb88xx is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-30-2006, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Allan Gibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix, Ariozona (formerly Montrose, CA)
Posts: 4,473
Well, it sound like the RG3 and PCIII are the best upgrades for the S. Sound like it puts a stock S close to an stock R - maybe even a bit smoother?

I've been out of the loop. How much is the RG3 full system (not the Ti version)?
Allan Gibbs is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-30-2006, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
mikef4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 5,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by hb88xx
PCIII is possible, makes it for owners possible to tinker. As the software is free.
Else dongle software is needed to modify internal settings! same applies for rapidbike software
PC3 is possible hb but you need a "Fix" from Dynojet (or me!) to make it read 100% revs instead of 50% revs
PC3 DOES NOT get rid of the hideous emission related flat spot at 4000-5000rpm, RG3 ecu might but i'm not buying one untill I know for certain.

The std ecu fuels relatively OK even with RG3 but the 4000-5000rpm dip is real shit and I mean this seriously, it only happens on very small throttle openings, 2%, 5%, and 10% according to the PC software, I see Ferracci is re-programming ecu's as well,

In the wet the thing is dam right dangerous, your just crawling out of a roundabout at 4000ish then wham! the f*****g thing takes off, It feels more like an early 500 triple Kawasaki power band than a state of the art 1000cc four stroke,
mikef4uk is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-01-2006, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
acruhl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tucson
Posts: 1,560
I'm not sure why one would need to modify this bike too much, other than dyno tuning from what I read so far.

I would put good rearsets on it, make sure it's sprung for you, MAYBE put in a freer flowing air filter and pipe, and get it tuned.

What Mike says above can only get worse if the bike is modded without proper tuning.

'01 F4S
acruhl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome