rg3s set up - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
chay250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: somerset. uk.
Posts: 160
rg3s set up

hi - question - have R312 with the cat removed would the bike run ok if i fit rg3s only without modifications to the fueling?- i have just contacted vesuvio who say if i fit rg3s i would req a new e.c.u. - others say they replaced the eprom only.
i am confused to be honest as i have read a lot of the old threads on this subject and opinions seem to vary.
chay250 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Cash_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,149
Change the ECU and get some custom mapping done while doing some testing on a Dyno. That way you will ensure that you dont have any issues with fueling down the track and also be able to gain the best performance out of your 312R and RG3's

_________________
A closed mouth gathers no feet.........
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cash_Dawg is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 04:51 PM
New Member
 
progress72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italy - Varese
Posts: 31
no eprom on ECU E3. The Marelli 5SM il welded.
You have 3 choice:
1. buy a new ECU Mv Corse
2. upload the new map in your ECU (only in MV assistance)
3. buy a full open ECU like the Microtec M191 or M226 (new)

You must use a new map because the exhaust is open now! The A/F ratio is changed!
The Marelli 5Sm is not possible to map on a Dyno, is only possible upload a map!
progress72 is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
number2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 5,729
actually there is another choice. A PCIII
number2 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 05:23 PM
New Member
 
progress72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italy - Varese
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by number2 View Post
actually there is another choice. A PCIII

not on a euro3...

the PCIII don't is an ECU but it shift the base plane of map...the range of rpm is big and not exact like a full open ECU....

I think that is the worst solution for an MV!
progress72 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 05:38 PM
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 180
You say the cat is removed, do you still have the Lambda probe connected?

If not either your bike is either fitted with a new ECU or the probe has been fitted with an eliminator.

I replaced the ECU with the RG3 Race ECU, they come up second hand here for time to time. With the race ECU the Lambda probe is redundant and a PC III can be fitted (or the ECU tuned) for final tweaking of the fuelling curve.

With the OEM ECU, unless the Powercommander can also replicate the exhaust (Lambda probe) the 5SM ECU and PC III will continually be fighting.

What I mean is every time the PC III adjusts the mixture the Lambda reading will also change resulting in the OEM ECU also changing the mixture to obtain the originally desired value - net result the PC III does nothing (it is a little more complex than this but that is the gist of the issue).

In summary, with the OEM ECU the bike will run with RG3 pipes, however if the ECU is also changed, it will run a whole lot better.

Andrew...
andrew is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
mv2envy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reseda, California
Posts: 5,824
There is another option, Fast By Ferracci will do a swap for your ecu. You send them yours, they send you a race ecu.

Joe - mv2envy
AKA. MV Guy 12345
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mv2envy is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-15-2010, 01:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Tocalosh Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London
Posts: 753
New Site Garage
speak with chris at xbikes, i think he is the most knowledgable on these matters at present 01945 585533
Tocalosh Black is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-15-2010, 04:48 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
chay250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: somerset. uk.
Posts: 160
thanks for the tip - will give chris a ring as there are obviously differing opinions on this subject
chay250 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-15-2010, 05:17 AM
New Member
 
progress72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italy - Varese
Posts: 31
the MV Corse race ECU (5SM) use the same firmware of Euro2....and lambda is disabled.....you don't need use it or a terminator, just a plug!
progress72 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome