WOW, Price Drop in Japan for F4 - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 178
WOW, Price Drop in Japan for F4

Wow, I just brought up MV Agusta Japan website and the new F-4 which was 2.85mm Yen in April, is now 2.1mm Yen. (USD 30k - USD 23k). http://www.mv-agusta.co.jp/mvagusta/f4r_2010/index.html

The reason is the regulators decided to take a dump on MV and the bikes are restricted to 100HP. THat's right. An F-4 with 100HP.

My question is, I always wind up putting in a racing ECU and dump the cat's on all my bikes. If I bought this restricted F-4 and swapped ECU's and the pipes, would I have a full power F-4? or do you think there are other considerations to the power restrictions?

May have to add an F-4 to my Brutale (which I was able to buy full power here in Japan as it was before the regulation change, but am in the midst of swapping out the ecu and sport titatnium pipes.).

My 1198 was also restricted but Termis and an ECU and I'm making 156HP at the rear wheel. FYI, THE RSV4 FACTORY - 105HP!! FASCISM!!!!

Last edited by Squid; 06-15-2010 at 09:49 PM.
Squid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 11:10 PM
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 163
I would assume all the restriction is done in the ECU, so putting in a race ecu should/could cure it.
MV Guy 12345 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 11:16 PM
The Dude
 
TokyoLunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 5,041
wow, quite a price diff! certainly makes it a bit more competitive with the other recent models (rsv4, 1000rr).

i'm pretty sure it isn't down to 100. it is down a bit in order to make it meet restrictions here, which just brings down the curve a bit, but not down to 100. japan != france.


'06 MV Agusta Brutale 910 || '03 MV Agusta F4 750 - Moto Corse Challenge 2 || '05 Yamaha FJR1300A || '04 Honda CBR600RR || '96 Honda XR250 || '90 Honda CBR250RR (MC22) || '89 Honda VT250 Spada


Tokyo, Japan
TokyoLunch is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 11:33 PM
Senior Member
 
fazer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 8,920
Sometimes it's even just a little screw acting like a throttle stop to keep the tube from rotating fully--Once off the showroom floor you just remove the screw.

B4 750S [sold]
B3 675R [waiting]
fazer6 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 04:01 AM
Senior Member
 
demitris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Posts: 521
I heard that Japanese CBR's had modifications in the airbox and the exhaust, as well as the ecu to meet the hp restrictions. It's worth checking with the dealer before buying.

...People are more violently opposed to fur than leather because it's safer to harass rich women than motorcycle gangs...
demitris is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 04:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Tripleinside's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Paris, FRANCE
Posts: 378
The french MV's are restricted to 100 HP (not for long usually...)

the restriction is in 2 places on <2010 bikes (not sure about the new models):

1) ECU
2) different plastic intake trumpets (smaller in diameter)

that's all.

Last edited by Tripleinside; 06-16-2010 at 01:53 PM.
Tripleinside is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
hb88xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A'dam, NL
Posts: 3,412
New Site Garage
I would love to see a dyno chart of a japanese or French limited bike.
I have seen Blades restricted and they got no more than 85HP!!

4,5Mg~3Al~2Ti~Fe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hb88xx is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Tripleinside's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Paris, FRANCE
Posts: 378
roughly 106 hp on the F4 dyno charts i've seen...
Tripleinside is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2010, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 178
My Brutale 1090 has a 1078 engine. I wonder if I can change to the Trumpets from the 1078 F-4 and get more juice out of it? it has 144hp + whatever I get out of the new ecu and pipe.
Squid is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-20-2010, 04:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Cash_Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,149
Brand new MV's being limited??!! That's just plain sad
They need to be let loose in they way they were designed.

_________________
A closed mouth gathers no feet.........
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cash_Dawg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome