2008 F4 electrical issue - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-13-2010, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 735
2008 F4 electrical issue

My F4 has an electrical issue I can't seem to fix. While at the track the odometer and speedo stop working, the dash will then lose all power, and then bike will drop cylinders, and fail to restart. I thought it was a bad alternator, my mechanic took it out and tested at a local shop. They said it was good. My mechanic then thought it was a bad diode, which I'm told is the battery charge lead that comes w/the bike from the factory. So he disconnected it, and we thought it was fixed.

Then the same thing happens at the next track day. I went and bought a battery charger that has an alternator check function. The charger says everything is ok. But as it's setup for track only I cant really go for a good ride to truly test it.

any ideas on what to do before I resort to shipping the bike to an MV dlr? there are none close at all.

thanks

'08 F4R312
'06 Brutale 910
'06 Triumph Daytona 675 - track
'04 Ducati ST4s sold
'05 Ducati Monster S2R 800 sold
Mika is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-13-2010, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,362
New Site Garage
Hi Mika,
The 07 and prior Brutales occasionally had a glitch with the SPU (Service Power Unit), do a search on SPU and you'll find numerous threads on symptons.

If SPU, it can't be repaired, has to be replaced.

Cheers

Tim
Current
MV Agusta Brutale 1090RR
MV Agusta Brutale 910R - Track Bike
Harley-Davidson Street Glide Rushmore
Harley-Davidson Road Glide Rushmore

Past
MV Agusta Brutale 1090RR
MV Agusta Brutale 990R LE Anniversary Edition #81/150
MV Agusta Brutale 750s
cruiser is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 06:27 AM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
He probably hates me for saying so, but I would send a PM to Hartley Hare. He doesn't post at all anymore, but he is an electrical god and has helped numerous members with electrical issues. If he can't sort it out, burn the bike and bury it.
CAG is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiser View Post
Hi Mika,
The 07 and prior Brutales occasionally had a glitch with the SPU (Service Power Unit), do a search on SPU and you'll find numerous threads on symptons.

If SPU, it can't be repaired, has to be replaced.

Cheers
thanks but my question is about a 2008 F4, not a Brutale 2007 or prior.

I have also checked the 2 fuses on the left side of the frame by the alternator.

'08 F4R312
'06 Brutale 910
'06 Triumph Daytona 675 - track
'04 Ducati ST4s sold
'05 Ducati Monster S2R 800 sold
Mika is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,362
New Site Garage
Hi Mika - yep, fully understood the question...it was only a suggestion given the nature of the problem you described. ...and if the SPU has gone, then the fuses will all look ok.

Best of luck

Cheers

Tim
Current
MV Agusta Brutale 1090RR
MV Agusta Brutale 910R - Track Bike
Harley-Davidson Street Glide Rushmore
Harley-Davidson Road Glide Rushmore

Past
MV Agusta Brutale 1090RR
MV Agusta Brutale 990R LE Anniversary Edition #81/150
MV Agusta Brutale 750s
cruiser is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
number2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 5,728
Have you installed any electronics device on the bike recently. I put a pcIII on a bike and did not hook up the ground correctly and it and it caused a similar problem.
number2 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-15-2010, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 735
I may have accidentally connected the factory installed battery charge lead backward. I assumed the shape would prevent a surge,etc. maybe i was wrong. I lost the cap to that lead - could that be an issue? my mechanic said he disconnected that lead when he thought he had it licked.

But no I have not installed any electronics on it. It has been w/o headlights, turnsignals, etc. since March 2009. The bike in my avatar.

5 track days since 4/09 and a handful of rides to my shop at ~20 miles from my house.

'08 F4R312
'06 Brutale 910
'06 Triumph Daytona 675 - track
'04 Ducati ST4s sold
'05 Ducati Monster S2R 800 sold

Last edited by Mika; 06-15-2010 at 11:25 PM.
Mika is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome