Low Fuel Light Failure? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-31-2010, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Stockholm SWEDEN
Posts: 146
Low Fuel Light Failure?

I got highway grounded for 1.5h due to empty fuel tank.

No warning from the Low Fuel Light?!

It lights up during startup procedure but not at 4L left in tank?!

I have dismounted the tank/connections & put it back without solving the problem.

I now use the tripmeter to calculate fuel range.

Please help me solve this irritating problem...

F4 312R Corse
SWEDEN
sigmond is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-31-2010, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Tont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 520
Your fuel sender in the tank will be knackered.
If you leave your bike standing with low level of fuel, the fuel will condense and the water will rot the sender. Empty the tank, remove the sender unit and clean it. You might get it Woking. I didn't.
Good luck mate.

The wife said "Go buy some Art"...
...................__O
................_-\<,_\
...............(_)/ (_)
I bought art.....MV Art!
Tont is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-31-2010, 07:31 PM
Established Member
 
mu53wa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 134
Mine has the exact same problem. Will be interested to hear the responses in this thread.

Where in the tank is the sender unit located, easy to access?
mu53wa is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 02:32 AM
Established Member
 
mv4750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 93
On Ducatis and Agustas if the fuel light is 'on' or 'off' you probably have a full tank of fuel - or not.

Best just to open the cap and look inside IMO.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mv4750 is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 03:13 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Stockholm SWEDEN
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by mv4750 View Post
Best just to open the cap and look inside IMO.
Try to do that while you are riding at 100mph/160kmh!!!

Last edited by sigmond; 06-25-2010 at 12:48 AM.
sigmond is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
mikef4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 5,193
Two low fuel sensors packed up on my 750, none on either of my 1000 bikes

(This reply has not been checked for punctuation, grammar, or spelling mistakes and is devoid of any big long cleverwords or condescending manner)


MV's all gone now, still have a soft spot for MV's, waiting for MV to tick all my boxes again.
Previously (and about 40 others)748SP, S4, S4R, 98R1, 2000 F4, F41000S, F41000R, 08R1, 09R1, S1000RR, RSV4 Factory aPRC in Garage now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikef4uk is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-09-2010, 08:46 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Stockholm SWEDEN
Posts: 146
Photo from fuel cap.

Is the fuel level sensor the small "periscope" with small holes on top?

Is it enough to spray anti corrosive liquid & blow compressed air on it to clean/repair the sensor?
Attached Images
  
sigmond is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-10-2010, 12:26 AM
Established Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 91
dont really have much to add to this thread other than ride your bike until its almost bone dry. record the milage and reset your trip meter on every fill up... the math wont lie to you.
SiCC is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-10-2010, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Tont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 520
Item no.7 is the fuel probe, so yes to that question.
You could try giving it a blast, but I don't think that will sort it. It all looks pretty clean in there, unlike mine was, but its not uncommon for them to fail. Are you sure you haven't disconnected the lead beneath the tank? I would check there first.
Attached Images
 

The wife said "Go buy some Art"...
...................__O
................_-\<,_\
...............(_)/ (_)
I bought art.....MV Art!
Tont is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-22-2010, 03:39 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Stockholm SWEDEN
Posts: 146
Cleaned the fuel probe but i won't work anyway.

The MV Agusta agent in Sweden is sending me a new fuel probe on warranty.
sigmond is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome