Superbike radiator for the F4 - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The_castle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,331
Send a message via Skype™ to The_castle
Superbike radiator for the F4

Another thread from our slow progress department.
This used radiator was sourced from Germany. It has no fan(s) and is used on race bikes. I intend to mount it to my 312R after some brackets for fans have been welded on.
Interesing that the radiator had a pressure cap on the upper right hand corner. This was about 15 mm too tall and hit the RHS air duct. It seems that MV designed some different air ducts for the F4 superbike that allowed this radiator to fit but it simply won't go on to the standard setup. The pressure cap has been removed and a 6 mm thick block of aluminium was welded in place then a hole was drilled & tapped to accept the brass fitting seen in the close up picture.
I'll drop the radiator off this afternoon at a local shop to have the brackets installed. It sould be un the bike early in the new year.
Attached Images
  
The_castle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,714
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
sbk radiator

The_castle;
i would have modified the air duct, then you use the header tank as a non-pressurized over flow tank....
think how many possible leak spots you eliminate that way

are there any manufacturer names or part numbers on it?

i want one!

Noel-theknurl
theknurl is online now  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 09:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The_castle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,331
Send a message via Skype™ to The_castle
It's by Taleo Tecnoracing in Italy.
Right here: http://www.taleotecnoracing.com/
It's a pretty basic website. No price on them but they may still be available.
I did think about altering the intake duct for about .5 of a second. They are MV Corse carbon. I believe in Karma and that's just asking for trouble.
OPP Racing offer a similar system. I will send you a link via PM.
Dave.
The_castle is offline  
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,714
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
thank you Dave, for the links
Cheers

Noel-theknurl
theknurl is online now  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-31-2009, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
ODJEBI68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicagoland (the region)
Posts: 289
Is this like the one MotoCorse used to sell for over 5000.00?
ODJEBI68 is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-31-2009, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The_castle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,331
Send a message via Skype™ to The_castle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJEBI68 View Post
Is this like the one MotoCorse used to sell for over 5000.00?
Good question, I paid 480 Euro which is about $1,050 New Zealand dollars which is about $720 US dollars and that included shipping from Germany. To put that in perspective I'm told that just the top radiator for an F4 in New Zealand retails for $2,000 NZD. And mine, like many others around the world, sprung a leak a while back.
The_castle is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-01-2010, 01:25 AM
Senior Member
 
adamv1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 2,323
why not just isolate the top part of the radiator?. worked on mine no leaks at all and cost me 70$ AUD.
Unless you wanted it for the bling.
adamv1000 is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-01-2010, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,714
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
new rad

adamv1000;
i want one because it increases radiator area, simplifies the cooling system and turns the header tank into a overflow tank, eliminating lots of potential leaks....pressurized joints

what's wrong with that?

Noel-theknurl
theknurl is online now  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-01-2010, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The_castle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,331
Send a message via Skype™ to The_castle
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamv1000 View Post
why not just isolate the top part of the radiator?. worked on mine no leaks at all and cost me 70$ AUD.
Unless you wanted it for the bling.
Bling & it's pretty light too. I'll run one fan.
The_castle is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-01-2010, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
adamv1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by theknurl View Post
adamv1000;
i want one because it increases radiator area, simplifies the cooling system and turns the header tank into a overflow tank, eliminating lots of potential leaks....pressurized joints

what's wrong with that?

Noel-theknurl
who was talking to you anyway? my question was to castle.
adamv1000 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome