Removing kickstand. How do I fake the switch to think the stand is up? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cryptyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 673
Removing kickstand. How do I fake the switch to think the stand is up?

I'm removing the stand so track plastics will fit. I don't have time to order a TPO eliminator switch. Does anyone know how to fake the switch into thinking the stand is up? There appear to be 3 leads, and I tried shorting them with a length of wire in the same way shown in the TPO switch picture - no luck.
I could resort to leaving the switch on the bike, and somehow forcing the switch closed and taping it, but that seems a little sketchy.

Anyone do this with a homemade mod?
cryptyk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 09:55 PM
The Machinist
 
B.Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cardiff by the Sea
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryptyk View Post
I'm removing the stand so track plastics will fit. I don't have time to order a TPO eliminator switch. Does anyone know how to fake the switch into thinking the stand is up? There appear to be 3 leads, and I tried shorting them with a length of wire in the same way shown in the TPO switch picture - no luck.
I could resort to leaving the switch on the bike, and somehow forcing the switch closed and taping it, but that seems a little sketchy.

Anyone do this with a homemade mod?


That's what I did with mine and works fine. Just tape it good!
B.Harris is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cryptyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 673
Do you remember what you used? I'm thinking of putting a socket on it to increase the surface area of the thing the tape contacts...
cryptyk is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cryptyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 673
Seems pretty solid. Socket over the switch pin, and a lot of duct tape. Then zip tied the big silver turd to the bike. Should be ok. thanks.
cryptyk is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-07-2009, 02:31 AM
Senior Member
 
The_castle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,331
Send a message via Skype™ to The_castle
Try bridging pins 1 and 3. Looking at the wiring loom that should work.
The_castle is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-07-2009, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
lewdog998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,536
one time I tried to fake my stand out....i looked to the right, but juked to the left...anyways...it just sat there and didnt even flinch.

A gun is not a weapon. It's a tool, like a butcher's knife, or a harpoon, or an alligator.
lewdog998 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-07-2009, 11:14 AM
The Machinist
 
B.Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cardiff by the Sea
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_castle View Post
Try bridging pins 1 and 3. Looking at the wiring loom that should work.


Sorry Ryan I thought this is what you meant. I did just as Mr. Castle explained here. Just need an extra wire, and some electrical tape.

Are you getting nervous yet?
B.Harris is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 03:05 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Harris View Post
Sorry Ryan I thought this is what you meant. I did just as Mr. Castle explained here. Just need an extra wire, and some electrical tape.

Are you getting nervous yet?

Hi,

Look at this link.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TPO-M...Q5fAccessories

Problem solved.

regards Klaas-Jan
Oliesleutel is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
fazer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 8,920
Why spend $25 on what you can do for $0.25

B4 750S [sold]
B3 675R [waiting]
fazer6 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-13-2009, 07:10 PM
Established Member
 
jng1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 84
Hey guys, Right now I'm in the exact same boat as cryptyk that started this thread. I ordered the TPO eliminator but it won't arrive in time. Which pins are 1 and 3? Does that work?

Thanks in advance.

Jeff
jng1226 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome