F4S turn signals - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
F4S turn signals

my turn signals work intermittently and mostly not so. Is there a problems with the signal housing on the handlebars or is it something else?
craigmk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
cryptyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 673
Both front and rear? Both left and right?
cryptyk is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
yes, I thought I had to push the button/switch firmer, but that doesn't make a difference
craigmk is offline  
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 03:54 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
Not to split hairs, but you said F4s and then you said handlebars. Do you mean clipons, or do you have a Brutale?

If it is an F4 what year is it? Have you owned the bike for a while and is this a new problem?
CAG is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
it is an F4S and they are clipons, sorry for the confusion. I have recently purchased the bike and am unsure if this problem existed before
craigmk is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 07:12 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
That helps. We know your SPU is not on it's way out.

Start at the bulbs. Make sure there is no corrosion on any of the contact points. Work your way toward the harness checking all the connections.

Do you have the stock turn signals or are they been replaced with led's?
CAG is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
cryptyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 673
If none of them are working, I'd start at the flash relay. Pretty easy to check there with a multimeter and at least cut the problem area in half.
cryptyk is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Snohman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Land Down Under
Posts: 1,114
alright.
first off check all the bulbs. they should be 10W bulbs. these can be tricky to come by and are sometimes swapped out for 5w bulbs which causes timing problems

second check the torque on the two bolts holding the nose fairing. if these arn't done correctly the connecters to the turn signal dont line up properly

third. check your connections

i'm sure some others will pop in with some things to check but my best guess is that if its not the bulbs it will be the relay (these are on the left hand side of the bike under the fairing.) a number of people have had these fail (myself included- twice). you can get OEM replacements or there is an aftermarket replacement from NAVRA that has a better service record.
Snohman is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
bobbyangeles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 385
I just installed a clear alternative integrator and it don't flash properly. Doni need to use resistors?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2002 F4S full Ohlins,RG3 full exhaust, custom tuned by FBF
[COLOR=darkred]
2002 Ducati 998
bobbyangeles is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Snohman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Land Down Under
Posts: 1,114
yes probably. these resistors get VERY HOT so if you use them you need to keep them clear of pretty much everything. they will melt your plastics if they come into contact with them.

a better alternative is to replace the OEM relay which is a solid-state (bi-metallic strip) for a digitaly controlled one. NAVRA make a good alternative but i forget what the part number is

Last edited by Snohman; 07-11-2009 at 10:37 PM.
Snohman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome