FNG, need advice - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2008, 03:35 PM Thread Starter

FNG, need advice

Hello all,
New to the forum and am considering purchasing a new 07 1000R. I've got 19 years experience riding R1's, Ducati 998/916/1098, and an RC51, street riding and track days.
I'd like to ask the experts a couple of questions and would greatly appreciate anyone's feedback. I've done a quick search but didn't find exactly what I was looking for.

1) The heat issue, is it something major or only a minor annoyance? Do all 1000R experience this and does it include overheating or do the bikes simply run hot? Is there a fix?
My 998 ran at very high temps when new. I installed an Evoluzione low temp fan switch which resolved the problem.

2) Maint., is the valve adjustment interval around 7,000 miles?

3) Common problems that I can expect to encounter? Is this bike going to be reliable or will I need to make friends with my local service shop? The dealer I'm thinking of purchasing from is very reputable, but 150 miles away. The closer dealership isn't as recommended from a friend who's been there. Having to trailer the bike 150 miles one way, often, due to service issues, is going to make me rethink buying this bike.

Anyone's help or feedback would be very much appreciated. Any owners out there care to give me their assesments of the gorgeous F4 1000R?

Ride safe!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2008, 03:44 PM
CAG

Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
Welcome aboard. The most common problem you are likely to encounter is people stopping you and asking what kind of bike it is. Be prepared for this.

I have several MVs and I have found them to be quite reliable.