Radial valves - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 11-23-2007, 02:28 AM Thread Starter

Radial valves

O.K. folks, not being ignorant regarding engines and their operation,the purpose and relationship of various engine components, but can someone describe to me "radial valves" and the difference from a conventional valve.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 11-23-2007, 04:26 AM

I will try to answer but forgive my english with is not so good (I am french).

As I know, radial valves are convergering to the same point therefore conventional valves are parallel two by two (exhaust and inlet on each side of the cylinder).
So conventional valves use a roof cylinder head and radial valve use a spherical cylinder head which is better for fuel burning.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 11-23-2007, 06:16 AM
Established Member

Hi, i'm not an expert but take a look at my avatar and also the picture below and you might be able to visualise it a bit better.
Attached Images

post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 11-23-2007, 06:42 AM

It refers to the shape of the inside of the cylinder head. Ideally, it's shaped like a sphere, which is why sometimes you hear it referred to as "hemispherical" (eg "Hemi").

The other more common shape to the cylinder head is sometimes called "pentroof", which is shapped like the roof of a house, with 2 flat sides and the valves are parallel. Take a sheet of paper, fold it in half and then stand it on the table so it forms a triangle with the table (not sure if I'm making sense).

The MV has it's valves arranged along the surface of the "sphere", so there are no parallel lines.