2010 F4 Fll LCD dash onto earlier F4/Brutale? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-18-2012, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
JensonF4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 12
2010 F4 Fll LCD dash onto earlier F4/Brutale?

Hi to everyone on forum!

Has anyone tried this mod? -fitting later Full LCD dash onto earlier model F4/Brutale 750/1000 bikes?

I need a full wiring schematic for a 2010 F4 to make comparisons for dash connections if anyone could help? or even a 2010 damaged wiring harness for the dash connection wiring?

I have a '02 F4 750 (Yellow faced tacho) and puchased a used 2010 F4 Full LCD dash, and I am happy to share info with all on here when I have a working retrofit solution!

I realise mine doesnt have the Traction Control etc. that later model has, but looking to achieve at least all functionality of my original dash on new one, Speedo/Tacho/Odometer/idiot lights, Oh and the cool blue backlight and F4 Logo on switch on!!
I am looking to achieve this without butchering wiring loom and making mods neat and reversable if necessary. I would of course share all info to wiring mods where required and dash mountings with pics when I have a working conversion! Any info/help welcome!

Regards

JensonF4

Regards, Jenson F4
JensonF4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 14,037
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Thumbs down why?

Jenson;

why? you'd lose the clock, temp gauge and probably get stuck in a CAN BUS hell

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 01:11 PM
Established Member
 
zerias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 105
Hi Jenson.... i tried the oposite.... take the new dash from my F4 RR... and put old model.....
my dealer told me that is not possible to do it.....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Mv Agusta F4 RR Corsacorta
KTM 250 SX
Honda CBR 125 R
Suzuki LT 160
zerias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
MV-Woodster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 1,077
Well I can imagine this just will not work as wiring would be completely different even down to connectors as not made by same source as the pre 2010 bikes if u want the whole digital dash go aftermarket and contact Translogic see if u can convince the to try fit one I tried last year they wernt to keen to even give it ago

But hay good luck fella be I retesting to see results of any

Home of the F4 Fibra di carbonio
MV-Woodster is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
mikef4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 5,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by theknurl View Post
Jenson;

why? you'd lose the clock, temp gauge and probably get stuck in a CAN BUS hell
Steve has pieces of tape stuck all over the rev counter as he can see the lcd going up but can't tell what the numbers are

(This reply has not been checked for punctuation, grammar, or spelling mistakes and is devoid of any big long cleverwords or condescending manner)


MV's all gone now, still have a soft spot for MV's, waiting for MV to tick all my boxes again.
Previously (and about 40 others)748SP, S4, S4R, 98R1, 2000 F4, F41000S, F41000R, 08R1, 09R1, S1000RR, RSV4 Factory aPRC in Garage now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikef4uk is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
JensonF4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 12
Hello again and thanks all for replies!

I have picked up lots of usefull tips from you guys on forums, so THANKS to all!

I prefer the 'classic' shape F4 (especially the 312R and 1078) BUT I did like the new style clocks on the latest F4. I have allready got the 'carbon-rash' on my 750, and done the sensible 'mods' as recommended on here; swapped eprom, side stand link, lower rad support brace, manual fan switch and liked the mod with gear indicator into face of tacho, but I was going to get a second set of used clocks to keep my original yellow faced one. I came accross the 2010 clocks and figured I give it a try? Worse case, it don't work and I have an 'extra' male/female multipole connector in my wiring loom and keep my std clocks!

I like a challenge with the wiring! (work creeping into playtime) Where theres a will theres a way - with a bit of time comparing wiring diagrams!
I noticed that the clock connectors are differrent allready, the Pre 2010has a 20 pin connector (2x rows of 10), the post 2010 has 16 pin (2x rows of 8) -which just happens to be the same connector as most modern Triumph's, Some Suzuki GSX R and Early Yamaha R6 (all have VERY similar TACHO/ LCD Speedo/temp guage and idiot light set up), so I can souce a 'donor' to match the connector on the clocks easily enough for a 'factory look' adaptor.
I have done one clockset conversion for a friend with a Hayabusa and successfully spliced a GSX R 600 digital speedo onto the Hayabusa loom, all working corrrectly with exception of low fuel warning light (as 'Busa had a fuel guage and tank sender). So thought I might have a go on my own bike for something slightly differrent....

The one thing I AM struggling to find is a wiring schematic for the 2010 onward F4. So, if anyone on here could help and has one they could scan or send as a PDF for me to compare against that would be a great help.

Thanks everyone for taking time to post replies!

JensonF4
JensonF4 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 10:44 PM
Established Member
 
DLO01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 240
I am sure it can be done. We do it on our old Honda cars with new digital clusters out of newer models.

Deano.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DLO01 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-20-2012, 02:04 AM
X81
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wisbech, cambs/norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,738
The new dash communicates wih the ECU via CAN BUS. It controls the traction control etc so i doubt you'll get either working on the wrong model bike.

You would possibly stand a greater chance of getting the old one working on the new bike but you woul dlose all your things controlled by the Dash. Doing it the other way round will not be so easy i think.

X81 is online now  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-20-2012, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
cleophus james's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 475
You are in for a world of pain. There is an entire intermediate layer of sensors that are not going to signal the same way that the old ones did and you have no software to interpret it.

Unless you are an embedded systems and or EE you are going to have a near impossible task of extremely questionable value.
cleophus james is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 12:42 AM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 14,037
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Wink ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleophus james View Post
You are in for a world of pain. There is an entire intermediate layer of sensors that are not going to signal the same way that the old ones did and you have no software to interpret it.

Unless you are an embedded systems engineer and or EE you are going to have a near impossible task of extremely questionable value.
+100

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome