18' F4RR cutting out - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-28-2018, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
18' F4RR cutting out

So just had first service done yesterday. Went out today and had 5 different cutoffs at different speeds, most of them when coming to a stop.



Had the "malfunction" warning three times then "Fault SCU" twice. 2 times no malfunction or warning indicators at all. Recycled the key each time and bike continued.



After the first one I turned for home, and these all happened on the way.


Needless to say I am a bit disappointed. From reading earlier threads it seems the quickshifter could be a possible culprit but I dont see how a SCU fault could cut power to the engine.




I did get it home ok, and calling the dealer on Tuesday.


Any guesses?


Can anyone tell me if I am able to see the fault codes through the display somehow?

18' F4RR local

18' ZX-14 longer local

16' S1000XR touring

02' XR400
06' CRF450X


02' CBR1100xx sold
16' Hypermotard sold
17' Panigale S traded for MV
Flatulence is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-29-2018, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,016
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
You have to get the bike in dealer mode to see the fault codes. I believe that is done through the diagnostic computer.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-29-2018, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dansoarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Herefordshire / Monmouthshire Border, UK
Posts: 684
You need the dealer tool, most flash tools will also do it (that's what I use).

From what I have seen MV does not store the errors I'f the error goes away, intermittent or power cycle they just disappear. Causes fault diagnosis to be a pain.

If you have just had the service, back to dealer I'm afraid.

If you were coming to a stop, it should not be the qs. I'd turn it off in the dash and test again.

----------------------------------------
2015 MV F4, ABS
ECU Re-Mapped with ECU studio (F4 RC base ROM)
QS & Blipper now working with ECU studio and Durashift sensor

others
GSXR 1000
GSXR 750
dansoarr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-29-2018, 03:36 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,289
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
OBD-2 Compliance requires Detected Trouble Codes be stored. Even after they go off on the dash they can be retrieved by the dealer diagnostic tool.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is online now  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-30-2018, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
dansoarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Herefordshire / Monmouthshire Border, UK
Posts: 684
That's true for existing faults. If the system has X cycles where the fault has not presented it self then it can be self cleared by the ECU. Each manufacturer determines these faults and number of cycles before clearing the error, except emission errors if I recall.

From what I have seen on the F4, it's minimal storage for example, a dodgy gear sensor position indicator will flash upon the dash. You change geer or the fault disappears, there is no log in the ECU that MV can read. It's very fault dependant.

----------------------------------------
2015 MV F4, ABS
ECU Re-Mapped with ECU studio (F4 RC base ROM)
QS & Blipper now working with ECU studio and Durashift sensor

others
GSXR 1000
GSXR 750
dansoarr is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome