Tuning options? - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-28-2017, 07:33 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South Dakota USA
Posts: 37
Tuning options?

Tomorrow afternoon I'm making a cross country voyage to go pick up my first MV Agusta. A 2010 F4 with 6000 miles on it. First things first, I'm pretty sure it's going to need exhaust. And after I get done with exhaust and a filter, I'm pretty sure I'm going to need to tune it. That's where I get stuck. I've been doing some reading on here, and have seen several posts about a "race ecu" and a microtek ecu, and also guys putting power commanders on their bikes. but I don't really understand the differences. I'd like to have the tuning done on a dyno, as I believe that would be most accurate, rather than downloading someone elses map. But what do I need to do this? Can I have the original flashed, or do I need a different ECU? Does the microtek offer something above a "race ecu"? If I get an ecu do I need a power commander? If I get a power commander can I get by with a stock ecu? Sorry for all the questions, but I've never modified a bike far enough to need tuning afterwards. I literally know nothing about it. Including anywhere to have it dyno tuned. Especially in South Dakota. Home of zero MV Agustas.


On a side note this bike was listed as a 2010 F4R. To my knowledge, and my research there was only 1 model of F4 for 2010. Is this correct, or was there a base model F4, and an F4R in 2010?


Thanks for any assistance you guys can offer. I'm so excited! I'm finally going to own an F4!
trigger29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 04:52 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,010
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
2010 was the first year for the second generation F4.

The ECU in that bike should be an ELDOR unit.

ELDOR ECUs can be tuned by a knowledgeable shop with the ELDOR programming.

The best way to get the most out of your particular situation is to find a reputable tuning shop with a skilled dyno guy and let him have the bike until it is tuned.

The Micro Tec (note spelling) ECU is a marvelous intsrument that allows tuning more than just fueling parameters. Chris at X-Bikes is our resident expert. Contact him to find out what is required to switch to a Micro Tec ECU.

The question remains: Why do you believe it will need a pipe?

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 05:27 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South Dakota USA
Posts: 37
Ahh. Spelling noted. My mistake. So, the stock ECU can be flashed and tuned, but a Micro Tec could be further tuned, with some timing adjustments or something maybe? As for why I think it may need a pipe, I just don't know how loud it will be, or what it will sound like. I asked once in another post as to whether it'll be on the volume level of jap bikes with factory silencers on them, or if it would be louder, and never got an answer. I was riding a 2006 R1 with the factory cans, but cut out the factory mufflers from the cans, and installed race baffles. That sounded noticeably better, but if I ride with guys on 600's with slip on systems I couldn't even hear my own bike run. Drove me nuts. I kind of feel like a Bodis system would sound better, and maybe free up a few horses. Then tuning could maybe free up a few more. Just to be sure I can out run my old R1, which is still running around this town. Can't get beat by my old bike you know. Haha.

I don't know, maybe it'll sound great, and I'll want to leave it alone. But I'm usually pretty underwhelmed with the sound of any stock bike. Being from South Dakota though my whole sum of MV Agusta experience has come through the internet. They just aren't here.
trigger29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,010
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
There was an F4 in South Dakota last fall, in Huron. It now is here, owned by a guy in Plympton, MA; but stored in my trailer in Duxbury, MA.

Spelling, with Microtec, will get you many things. The correct spelling is actually Microtec. If you search via other spellings (Micro Tec, Micro Tech, Microtech...) you will find vastly different products.

If you go with a full system, you will likely need a tune. If you go with a slip on muffler, likely no tune will be needed.

If you are doing it for performance gains and have never ridden an MV as you state, don't do anything until you have some seat time and understand the power band on the F4. I think you will be pleasantly surprised how it is right out of the box.

If you are doing it to be louder, you are doing it for the wrong reasons...let's not get into sound physics here.

The MV has the R1 beat even if it's just parked up.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125

Last edited by silentservice703; 05-29-2017 at 05:39 AM.
silentservice703 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 06:51 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South Dakota USA
Posts: 37
I wouldn't necessarily say I'm doing it to be louder. I don't know, sounding better might be a more accurate statement? I liked the way my R1 sounded even if the other bikes were louder. They were high pitched and whiney. My R1 was a deeper growl. It stood out. And it looked good. I like the look of the Bodis system as well. (Not the price tag) If it can provide a soul moving tone like the looks of the F4 deliver me, I'll probably have one. But I'll wait to see what the factory sounds like first.
trigger29 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,010
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
The growl you will hear from an MV F4 is induction howl as the bike creates power.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
dansoarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Herefordshire / Monmouthshire Border, UK
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentservice703 View Post
2010 was the first year for the second generation F4.

The ECU in that bike should be an ELDOR unit.
Don't think this is correct, was not 2013 the first with the Eldor nemo em2.0 ecu? Think the early gen 2's had the Magneti-Marelli IAW 7BM ecu.

That one can be easily replaced with the microtec where as the Eldor is still more restrictive in the options for tuning.

----------------------------------------
2015 MV F4, ABS
ECU Re-Mapped with ECU studio (F4 RC base ROM)
QS & Blipper now working with ECU studio and Durashift sensor

others
GSXR 1000
GSXR 750
dansoarr is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,010
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
I stand corrected Dansoarr! you are right about MM7MB.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 09:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Dahulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto & Portland
Posts: 547
Send a message via Skype™ to Dahulk
I am running a Power commander with bodis on the a 2012 which has the same ECU as the 2012. No issues. Recommend you go down a gear on the front sproket. The bikes are geared high to meet EPA. It will be worth it. Did it on mine much more rideable.
Dahulk is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-29-2017, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South Dakota USA
Posts: 37
I'm not too concerned with the gearing. Can't be as bad as an '06 R1. That thing would run to 114mph in first gear if ran to the rev limiter. That was geared pretty tall, and it made no real power below 8000 so I'm thinking this has to be better.














Edited for stupid autocorrect fail.

Last edited by trigger29; 05-29-2017 at 09:55 PM. Reason: spelling
trigger29 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome