# Adjusting Choke Lever - MVAgusta.net
log in
|
|


Forum
Go Back   MVAgusta.net > Hands On > Maintenance
Register FAQ Members List
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 12:55 PM   #1
MaximoMarc
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000]

 
MaximoMarc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Uckfield, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to MaximoMarc
Default Adjusting Choke Lever

Anyone managed to adjust this lever correctly?

I've adjusted the cable to take up a little bit of play I had in the throttle, but can't work out how to reset the choke lever.

Tried loosening and tightening the screw, and repositioning with/without throttle applied, but no joy.
MaximoMarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2013, 01:21 PM   #2
Ian SAVS
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000 R]

 
Ian SAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC. USA
Posts: 2,262
Send a message via Skype™ to Ian SAVS
Default

Also curious about this as mine does little or nothing when engaged.
Ian SAVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 01:50 PM   #3
gotojoe
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000 R]

 
gotojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warwickshire UK
Posts: 6,939
Default Throttle adjust

The throttle cables operate on a pull to open and pull to close. The little "choke" lever just operates on a cam basis to slightly open the throttle. Choke is a misnomer as it is not a choke lever, it merely rotates the throttle a fraction. If the cables are out of adjustment esp the throttle opening cable, then rotating the toggle lever will merely take up some of the cable slack and not open the butterflys...which is the desired effect.

So , you will need to adjust the cables under the tank in the time honoured fashion until there is no slack. Not too much though or you'll open the throttle at tickover which isn't what you want.


These pics just show where the cable adjusters are under the tank...I was doing something minor at the time like changing the frame which necessitated taking the throttle bodies off the engine.; )
joe
Attached Images
  

Last edited by gotojoe : 01-02-2013 at 02:04 PM.
gotojoe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 02:02 PM   #4
Ian SAVS
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000 R]

 
Ian SAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC. USA
Posts: 2,262
Send a message via Skype™ to Ian SAVS
Default

Thanks Joe!
Ian SAVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 02:20 PM   #5
MaximoMarc
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000]

 
MaximoMarc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Uckfield, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to MaximoMarc
Default

Cheers Joe,

I've already adjusted the cable to the point where the throttle doesn't quite return smoothly, then backed off so there's perfect throttle opening and no slack.

I'm at the point now where the choke lever is doing nothing. Before I farted about with it, it was at least opening the throttle in the last part of its quarter turn.

Do I need to reposition the lever somehow, or adjust the position of the cable?
MaximoMarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 02:41 PM   #6
guarda
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000]

 
guarda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 335
Default

I have noticed that when replacing the 8 year old throttle tubes along with my stock grips, the hard plastic "tunnel" that the cable sits in has been worn down a bit from when new (from what I imagine to have been new as I've never seen a new throttle tube) and rendering my "choke" lever inutile.
__________________
Art
guarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:13 PM   #7
Donsy
Senior Member or Something

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000 R]

 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 11,871
Send a message via Skype™ to Donsy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximoMarc View Post
Cheers Joe,

I've already adjusted the cable to the point where the throttle doesn't quite return smoothly, then backed off so there's perfect throttle opening and no slack.

I'm at the point now where the choke lever is doing nothing. Before I farted about with it, it was at least opening the throttle in the last part of its quarter turn.

Do I need to reposition the lever somehow, or adjust the position of the cable?
Adjust the other cable, not the one that tightens up the rotation, and do it with the "Áhoke" lever in the closed position.
__________________
Dons Nel

Mobile - 0438385776 in Australia
eMail me - donsy@teamdouble3racing.com or teamdouble3@bigpond.com [PayPal]
Web - http://www.teamdouble3racing.com/aboutus.php
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Team-...53264738050813
Donsy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:35 PM   #8
MaximoMarc
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000]

 
MaximoMarc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Uckfield, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to MaximoMarc
Default

Thanks Donsy, I'll give it a go
MaximoMarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:20 PM   #9
MaximoMarc
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4 1000]

 
MaximoMarc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Uckfield, East Sussex, UK
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to MaximoMarc
Default

Not much joy really.

Slackened off the lower cable (the return) completely, full thread showing. Adjusted the upper cable just shy of point where it stiffens the throttle, about half thread showing. Choke takes up cable in the final few degrees of turn to open the butterflies slightly. Guess there's wear there that can't be adjusted out.
MaximoMarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:27 AM   #10
silentservice703
Senior Member


 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 8,056
Send a message via AIM to silentservice703 Send a message via Yahoo to silentservice703 Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Default

Are you adjusting the cables at the grip end, or the throttle body end?
__________________
Be careful what you wish for, you may get just that.
silentservice703 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright © 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.