# Oil pressure switch - MVAgusta.net
log in
|
|


Forum
Go Back   MVAgusta.net > Models > F4 - 1st Gen. 1998-2009
Register FAQ Members List
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 06:01 PM   #1
Capo
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4S 750]

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 141
Default Oil pressure switch

Hey Y'all

My oil pressure switch on the left front bottom of the motor is leaking a copious amount of oil and is shorting out the wire and turning on the warning light. It is leaking where the black plastic meets the aluminum hex. I tried to order a new one but after four weeks it is still a no show. I had one from my 2005 Ducati SS 1000 DS that looked to be the same. The threads are the same so it fits mechanically. It also has the same electrical connector so it fits that way too. Only problem I can see is the pressure reading is .15 bars while the MV one was .5 bars. It works and turns out the low oil pressure light when the motor is running.

The mechanic at the shop said not to worry because if the stock one with the higher pressure came on while I was heading down the road it was too late for the motor anyway. He also said Triumph no longer installs the warning light. I have ridden it this way once for about 180 miles but it still makes me a little nervous.

Any opinions out there?

Jim
Capo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
CAG
Senior Member


 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,400
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
Default

4 weeks? Wow, that's a long time. How much would you pay to have one tomorrow?
CAG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 07:56 PM   #3
Miko
Established Member

MV in the Registry:
[Brutale S]

 
Miko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Isle of Pag, Croatia
Posts: 151
Default

Same problem on my Brutale 750.
In the first auto parts store I found the oil pressure switch (Opel No. 01/90534902) cost me about ten dollars.
Approximately half of the year and several thousand miles later, still working without problems.

BTW, I think that MV part is 0.3-0.6 bar, and the Opel part is 0.3-0.55 bar, so "Opel" is a much better choice than your "Ducati" with 0.15 bar.
Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 10:58 PM   #4
esq'z me
Senior Member


 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 11,592
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Default

Common electrical parts used in many vehicles.....a little research and off to the auto parts store.
Good info Miko !!
__________________
I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
'08 910R, '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike, YSR50 restoration project, '71 CB100
esq'z me is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 05:58 PM   #5
Capo
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4S 750]

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miko View Post
Same problem on my Brutale 750.
In the first auto parts store I found the oil pressure switch (Opel No. 01/90534902) cost me about ten dollars.
Approximately half of the year and several thousand miles later, still working without problems.

BTW, I think that MV part is 0.3-0.6 bar, and the Opel part is 0.3-0.55 bar, so "Opel" is a much better choice than your "Ducati" with 0.15 bar.
Thanks Miko I will try the NAPA dealer here and see what he can find. When I tried this to replace a Ducati one he had no luck finding it but I did not bring in the part so did not know the pressure ratings. I was told one from a VW beetle would fit. Did you have to cut the wires to make the Opel one fit? I did not see a range on the MV one I pulled it just said .5 bar. I will look again more closely.

Jim
Capo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 06:27 PM   #6
CAG
Senior Member


 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,400
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
Default

I guess my attempt at humor went over you or beneath you.

I have one. I can send it tomorrow, $25 delivered.
CAG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 08:16 PM   #7
Capo
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4S 750]

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
I guess my attempt at humor went over you or beneath you.

I have one. I can send it tomorrow, $25 delivered.
Sorry did not mean to ignore you. I want to check with NAPA to see if they have the Opel one, then I have to call the dealer and cancel the order. Life can be complicated.

Jim
Capo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:51 AM   #8
Miko
Established Member

MV in the Registry:
[Brutale S]

 
Miko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Isle of Pag, Croatia
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capo View Post
Thanks Miko I will try the NAPA dealer here and see what he can find. When I tried this to replace a Ducati one he had no luck finding it but I did not bring in the part so did not know the pressure ratings. I was told one from a VW beetle would fit. Did you have to cut the wires to make the Opel one fit? I did not see a range on the MV one I pulled it just said .5 bar. I will look again more closely.

Jim
Just "Plug and Play" !!
Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 01:30 PM   #9
Capo
Senior Member

MV in the Registry:
[F4S 750]

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 141
Default

Miko

Back from the NAPA store and no oil pressure switch. I gave him your part number (Opel No. 01/90534902) but he could not find it. We went through a catalog and found several VM and Audi switches that would bolt up but the electrical connector was oblong rather than round plus they were rated at 1.2-1.6 bars. What part store did you get it from? Any idea of the year and model of Opel it was for?

Jim
Capo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 01:44 PM   #10
Miko
Established Member

MV in the Registry:
[Brutale S]

 
Miko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Isle of Pag, Croatia
Posts: 151
Default

http://www.ekmpowershop2.com/ekmps/s...new-1380-p.asp
Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin. Copyright 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.