front sprocket removal - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 07:11 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
number2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 4,118
front sprocket removal

Is there a secret or does it just take a lot of torque
number2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 08:45 AM
New Member
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 5
Just did my Brutale . Tried a few things but ended up hiring a electric impact wrench which did it in 5 seconds. It was that easy im going to buy my own
Kurt is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 15,026
Send a message via AIM to silentservice703 Send a message via Yahoo to silentservice703 Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
The trick is to remove the nut while the chain is still there.

Keep your words soft and sweet, for someday you shall eat them....
silentservice703 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
gotojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warwickshire UK
Posts: 9,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentservice703 View Post
The trick is to remove the nut while the chain is still there.

Otherwise we get " Unchained Malady"
gotojoe is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
The_castle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,017
Send a message via Skype™ to The_castle
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotojoe View Post
Otherwise we get " Unchained Malady"
Yes, very good.

Torque the front sprocket nut to 140 Nm and the manual says add Loctite 243.
The phonic wheel is torqued to 8 Nm, again with Loctite 243.
Source: Page 81 of the F4 shop manual.

It ain't what you ride, it's the way you ride it.
The_castle is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 15,026
Send a message via AIM to silentservice703 Send a message via Yahoo to silentservice703 Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
You are a funny man, Joe! I want to have a pint with you! (again)

Keep your words soft and sweet, for someday you shall eat them....
silentservice703 is online now  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
gotojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warwickshire UK
Posts: 9,650
It's the Guinness lol it instils Genius ha ha
gotojoe is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 02:11 PM
JDS
King of Bling
 
JDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9,382
Send a message via MSN to JDS
Quote:
Originally Posted by number2 View Post
Is there a secret or does it just take a lot of torque
Not sure whether your having an issue getting the retaining nut off or the speed sensor ?

The nut should come off using the normal "Shock & Awe" and the speed sensor just needs a little spray of WD40, wait a while and tap it very gentely with soft hammer.. Should come off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotojoe View Post
It's the Guinness lol it instils Genius ha ha
He's on the ball this Boy tonight..

EMAIL :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JDS is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
number2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 4,118
Was using an air gun with 150 psi and it would not come off. Finally used a torch to heat it and melt the loctite and presto it's loose
number2 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-10-2012, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 11,663
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Thumbs down tough nut to crack?

number2;
somebody used the wrong LocTite.....271 instead of 242

you don't really need any, there is a tabbed lock washer on it

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
i'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
email, PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome