06 Brutale Won't Start - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
mvinohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NE OHIO
Posts: 24
06 Brutale Won't Start

I put new spark plugs in my Brutale and have everything put back together but I can't get it started. It turns over but acts like there is no fuel getting to the intake. I double checked connections and fuses. The fuel pump is running, I can hear it and see the fuel moving around. When the power commander 3 powers up it goes thru a sequence then the - FUEL (negative fuel) led stays. I don't really know the inner workings of the PC3 but it tells me no fuel is present to start the bike or the + FUEL led would be on. I pulled the number 4 spark plug and it was dry but the center electrode looks like it some carbon on it, meaning the spark plugs were firing. I tried turning the key and leaving it on to see if the system would pressurize but it does not make any difference.

If anyone has any suggestions let me know. I was think if there was a way to "prime" the injectors maybe it would start. When I stored it last winter I drain all the gas out because I thought I might replace the gas fittings but with summer weather in March " I just want to ride". I don't know if it would be smart or safe to pour a small amount of gas in throttle body to see if it would start. Any help would be appreciated. Marty

2006 Brutale 910S - Arrow Midpipe - PCIII | 2001 Kaw ZRX1200R

mvinohio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 01:42 PM
New Member
 
Wills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Reno
Posts: 64
You can spray some starter fluid in the intake to see if fuel is issue (I have also used brake clean when nothing else around) PC's are known to fail, and you might consider un-hooking it and then trying to start.

Stop Global Whining
Wills is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 02:12 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,691
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
If you see fuel moving around in the tank and the power commander is telling you it's not seeing fuel, it is very likely you have a broken or disconnected line in the tank.
CAG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 12:30 AM
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Townsville, Australia
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to Thruan
Possible that the fuel lines are the wrong way round? Does it make a difference?
Thruan is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 12:46 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 21,907
New Site Garage
-1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thruan View Post
Possible that the fuel lines are the wrong way round? Does it make a difference?
No mate it makes no difference which way round they go. It is possible, like CAG said, that one of the fuel lines in the tank popped of, this happens quite often.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
mvinohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NE OHIO
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
If you see fuel moving around in the tank and the power commander is telling you it's not seeing fuel, it is very likely you have a broken or disconnected line in the tank.
Sure enough, I took an inspection mirror and flashlight and one of the hoses is loose. I didn't think the fuel was supposed to churn like that. It's a fountain in there, thanks for the heads up. For now I probably will replace all the lines and put real hose clamps instead of the crimped ones.

2006 Brutale 910S - Arrow Midpipe - PCIII | 2001 Kaw ZRX1200R

mvinohio is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
cdamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Not sure any more
Posts: 2,381
The crimped ones are good but make sure you replace the lines with ones that are meant to be submersible in fuel.

B750 and B1078 RR both gone now.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover."~Mark Twain
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cdamb is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome